AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 5 (253 Views)
Accepted Solution

Layer Filter

253 Views, 4 Replies
11-07-2013 08:08 AM

I know I can show only layers in the current drawing with ~*|* (yes I know I can invert the xref filter) but I want to exclude the xrefs and all layers beginning with C-

 

Can this be done?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Can you make a filter that includes all x-ref & all C- layers?
If so, then invert that.

Joe-Bouza wrote:
Works great. If I had my druthers ..Idruther take the invert selection out of the hands of the other users


Joe,

You could nest two filters.  Personally, I wish we could just click multiple filters and have acad show all layers that meet ALL selected filters or something along those lines.  But this should help a little bit.  You could have one filter that says "NonXref" and then all the others nested below that one.

 

In the following (first) screenshot, you'll see all the layers that are left after my nested filters are applied.  Then some of the layers in my file that are shown when the filters aren't used are shown in the second screenshot.

 

EDIT:  Here's where you can find more info on nesting your filters: 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/ENU/AutoCAD%202010%20User%20Documentation/index.html?url=WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-731e.htm,topicNumber=d0e43062

Then scroll to the bottom and you'll see an expander for "To nest a layer filter under another layer filter".

 

ACADNestedLayerFilters.png

 

ACADNestedLayerFilters-Unfiltered.png

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 5 (246 Views)

Re: Layer Filter

11-07-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Can you make a filter that includes all x-ref & all C- layers?
If so, then invert that.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (232 Views)

Re: Layer Filter

11-07-2013 09:09 AM in reply to: troma
Works great. If I had my druthers ..Idruther take the invert selection out of the hands of the other users
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 5 (124 Views)

Re: Layer Filter

01-27-2014 01:37 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:
Works great. If I had my druthers ..Idruther take the invert selection out of the hands of the other users


Joe,

You could nest two filters.  Personally, I wish we could just click multiple filters and have acad show all layers that meet ALL selected filters or something along those lines.  But this should help a little bit.  You could have one filter that says "NonXref" and then all the others nested below that one.

 

In the following (first) screenshot, you'll see all the layers that are left after my nested filters are applied.  Then some of the layers in my file that are shown when the filters aren't used are shown in the second screenshot.

 

EDIT:  Here's where you can find more info on nesting your filters: 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/ENU/AutoCAD%202010%20User%20Documentation/index.html?url=WS1a91938...

Then scroll to the bottom and you'll see an expander for "To nest a layer filter under another layer filter".

 

ACADNestedLayerFilters.png

 

ACADNestedLayerFilters-Unfiltered.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (102 Views)

Re: Layer Filter

01-27-2014 03:35 PM in reply to: doni49
Doni

Excellent. Thanks
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.