Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large Paving Area

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
JFN_KSH
700 Views, 6 Replies

Large Paving Area

Spoiler

I'm new to Civil 3D. I need to create a large, unregular, paving area, with some defined point location/elevations (paving area is for a mill). I don't know how to create this? Any hint?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
doni49
in reply to: JFN_KSH

I'm going to assume that you already have the outer boundary drawn.  Since you've said this is for a pavement milling project, I'm also going to assume that the depth will be the same throughout (so that you're just trying to calc the amount of material you're milling out and putting back).

If that's all true, here's how I would do it.

1. Create a featureline from the outer boundary line.
  2. Create a new surface adding the boundary line as a break line.
  3. Paste the EG surface in to the new boundary.
  4. Set the boundary line as an OUTER BOUNDARY for the surface.
  5. Lower the surface by the required depth.

Now you have a surface representing what it will look like after milling.  You can compare this surface to the EG surface to get a volumen calc.

EDIT:  Re number 5, here's where you'll find the option to lower the surface.  And I'm attaching a sample dwg file in which I've done this for an example.  The yellow shape is the outer boundary of the proposed surface.

Surface_RaiseLower.png

Don Ireland
Engineering Design Technician

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.

Message 3 of 7
JFN_KSH
in reply to: doni49