Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lane Taper

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
3437 Views, 7 Replies

Lane Taper

I'm a newbie to Civil 3d. I need some insight on how to taper a lane from 20' down to 12'. What is the best way to achieve this? This lane is also trying into an existing road kind of like a interstate ramp tying in to the mainline.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: Anonymous

Alignments and <profiles> tied to you assembly should do it

Joe

Joe Bouza
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
Neilw_05
in reply to: Joe-Bouza

To add to Joe's reply, you would create an alignment and profile for the lane you want to target and add it as a target for the lane subassembly used in your corridor. Then as the corridor approaches the existing road, the lane will stretch or compress and elevate according to the target alignment and profile.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
AEC Collection/C3D 2024, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 10 64 PRO

http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Neilw_05

Thanks, I was able to get the lane to taper using that method. I'm trying to do the same for the shoulder with a taper from 4' to 2' with no luck.

Message 5 of 8
Neilw_05

You can use the same technique for the shoulder. Draw the taper as a polyline or feature line and use it as a target. I'm not sure if there is a shoulder subassembly that can stretch to a target, but I think you can do it with a generic link.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
AEC Collection/C3D 2024, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 10 64 PRO

http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Message 6 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Neilw_05