AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 1 of 9 (688 Views)
Accepted Solution

lane slope, shoulder slope

688 Views, 8 Replies
11-07-2012 02:15 PM

how can i get my shoulder slope to match my lane slope? there is a feature line with elevation that is following the end of my lane (off: 33.50'). but from there, i cant get my shoulder slope to match my lane slope. i cant set another profile for the 35.5' offset to follow and need this to work. see image, dont worry about the left side.

 

thanks.

Use a parameter reference in your assembly.  This will allow the program to apply an output parameter from one sub as an input for another one.

 

Clipboard11.png

 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 9 (664 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-07-2012 09:29 PM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

Use a parameter reference in your assembly.  This will allow the program to apply an output parameter from one sub as an input for another one.

 

Clipboard11.png

 

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 3 of 9 (645 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-08-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: sboon

you are using assemblies that i'm not using. i cant get the assemblies you used to do what i need. i have specific alignments and elevations i need to follow and that sub doesnt have the juice i need, sorry. is there possibly another method you or anyone else can think of to help me out, i am stuck here... thank you SBoon.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 9 (640 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-08-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

Need more detail.  Post a sketch showing which subs you're using and how the assembly was built.  We'll also need to know which ones are being controlled by corridor targeting.  Can you post a drawing with the assembly in it?

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 5 of 9 (639 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-08-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

What shoulder SA are you using? They should all have that override built in to allow the lane slope to be passed to the shoulder.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 6 of 9 (634 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-08-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

right now i am using a "lanesuperelevationAOR" defined by a feature line and elevation, and a "shoulderextendsubbase". i also have a "linkoffsetandelevation" before the lane.  you can see it in the image on the original post. i thought i went through the definition of the shoulder looking for something like that, but if there is another one i need to use i gladly switch. thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 7 of 9 (630 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

11-08-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

SUCCESS! ok, i found the option to have it follow the lane slope. thanks to everybody that posted!

New Member
bmcd13
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-16-2013
Message 8 of 9 (302 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

09-16-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

Hi - I have a similar problem and can't find the solution anywhere else.

 

I am using "ShoulderExtendAll" and I want to set my shoulder slope to 6% (easy enough) and set my subbase to 3% (also easy) but keep the shoulder base slope at 2% to match my road. There is no where to do this; the base slope automatically follows the shoulder slope (6%). Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 9 of 9 (290 Views)

Re: lane slope, shoulder slope

09-16-2013 09:19 AM in reply to: bmcd13

Please ask your question in a new thread - with a link back to this one if you like.  Posting a new question in an already solved one is generally considered a thread hijack.  It will not be possible to mark your issue as solved and others will have difficulty searching for it.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!