AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
85 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

288 Views, 7 Replies
02-16-2014 06:55 PM

Is there an efficient way of labelling up polygon vertices with an elevation difference to a surface? An example is to label up an underground service to indicate the depth below a design surface.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013

one way :make a surface from your polgon elevations , then a volume surface and  and labe the vertice referencing the volume surface 

*Expert Elite*
5,280 Posts
329 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Post 2 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-16-2014 07:35 PM in reply to: HansSMS

one way :make a surface from your polgon elevations , then a volume surface and  and labe the vertice referencing the volume surface 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
85 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Post 3 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-16-2014 08:22 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks for the response. I was going that way but got put off by the point labels not ending up on the 3D polyline vertices but way below on the volume surface. But I do get one result I'm looking for: Sorting by elevation a list of points that do not have minimum depth.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Post 4 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-19-2014 06:05 AM in reply to: HansSMS
You could create a Line Label (for use on Featurelines etc) that make use of an Expression you have set up to calclulate the difference between two selected Surfaces.
That way you get the Labels on your vertices and you don't have to create a TIN Volume Surface
// O Cervin
Valued Contributor
85 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Post 5 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-19-2014 09:19 PM in reply to: ove.cervin

Where would I create the expression that can get the surface elevations?

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Post 6 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-19-2014 11:52 PM in reply to: HansSMS
Hi
Go to Toolspace - Settings.
General - Label Styles - Line - Expressions

Create your expression.

Create your Line Label and include the Expression you have made.

Use the Label on your Feature Line.
Annotate - Add Labels - Feature Line - Multiple Segments...

// Ove
Valued Contributor
85 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Post 7 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-20-2014 02:02 AM in reply to: HansSMS

What I'm trying to say is I don't find a surface elevation:-

 

Capture.JPG

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Post 8 of 8

Re: Labelling 3D polyline with depth to surface on vertices.

02-20-2014 04:03 AM in reply to: HansSMS

Hi again,
I am sorry to have mislead you... :-/ This seems to only be available through the expression for Point Labels :-(

A not so great solution might be a heavy workaround.
- Create a TIN Volume Surface
- Create a Feature Line, draped to the Elevation of the TIN Volume Surface
- Create Labels (as discussed) using the Start Segment Z as value when creating the expression in the Label

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!