AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
losfotos
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 1 of 8 (249 Views)

Labeling a pipe between structures

249 Views, 7 Replies
09-26-2013 04:54 PM

Does anyone know if there is a way to label a pipe part way between structures? I would like to be able to label a sanitary line where a service ties in with the main line invert. Any ideas?

Carl Simpson
C3D 2013, SP 2
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 8 (233 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-26-2013 07:01 PM in reply to: losfotos
Im not sure I understand what you want to label. Are you looking to provide a partial length of the Sewer Main or the Service branch line? A portion of the Main could be labeled from structure A to the wye location by placing a NULL structure to represent the wye etc.
Can you post a screen capture of what you're hoping to show with the partial label?
Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
losfotos
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 3 of 8 (204 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 06:58 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Hey Jay,

 

let me try to explain it better. When you have a main line sanitary sewer often in residential projects you'll have services wye into the pipe between MH's. Without having to break the pipe and add in a bunch of null nodes and have to figure out how to label them all as one I was wondering if anyone has come up with a label that will tell you the invert of the pipe at a particular point on the pipe? Does that make more sense?

 

I have an idea that maybe I could do an expression that will read the downstream invert, the slope of the pipe, the station where the label is and give the invert. I'm going to try to see if I can figure it out today.

Carl Simpson
C3D 2013, SP 2
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 8 (191 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: losfotos

I'm not aware of any way to place an invert label by picking a random point along a Pipe. You're expression idea may work.

Sounds like you're hoping to label the service invert at each service wye along the main?

This can be done assuming you had a pipe connected to the main line by creating a Pipe Label that uses the available "Start or End pipe Invert Elevation" components. It would also require the extra null structures and breaking up the main pipe.


losfotos wrote:

Without having to break the pipe and add in a bunch of null nodes and have to figure out how to label them all as one


 

 

The broken up main can be labeled as if it were one pipe MH to MH using Span Pipe labels.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
losfotos
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 5 of 8 (185 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Oh... Span. Huh, didn't see that one. Thanks Jay

Carl Simpson
C3D 2013, SP 2
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 8 (182 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: losfotos
Another option to look into:
Draw the pipe in profile view, then use a profile station/elevation label to label the invert at locations along the pipe.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
losfotos
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 7 of 8 (178 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: troma

That would be a way to do it. BUT since more often than not we don't profile the services we just label them in plan view. Actually we do label sanitary services in profile but not landscape drains. I'm actually trying to figure this out more for the landscape drains since we just do a plan view with inverts and slope for them.

 

I think I have an idea of how to do it but I need to call out expressions from alignments as well as pipes... Can that be done? I'm going to see what I can do with it but it may take a while. If I had C3D 2013 on my computer at home I could actually spend some time on it. (can't believe I just said that)

Carl Simpson
C3D 2013, SP 2
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: Labeling a pipe between structures

09-27-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: losfotos
First step in that case would be to trace the invert line with a profile. Now you've lost the dynamic link of course. Also, I'm not sure if you can label wherever you like, or just at regular stations.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.