AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 1 of 24 (592 Views)

Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

592 Views, 23 Replies
07-03-2012 08:05 AM

I have a bunch of lines that are created with multiple segments.  I'd like to annotate the total length.  I can't figure out to do this without labelling each segment along the line using Line and Curve commands.  How do I get one annotation that only shows the total of all the sements? 

 

I'm sure this is an easy fix, I'm just not seeing it. 

 

Thanks. 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,835
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 24 (581 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-03-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Hey Mr. Green:

 

You should ask this question over in the Civil 3D newsgroup.  This NG is for the operation of the two water/sewer programs.

 

Bill

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/ct-p/66

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 3 of 24 (577 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-03-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: GreeneSWCD
Whoops, wrong forum...
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 4 of 24 (552 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 04:50 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Thanks for moving this for me. 

 

So any solutions to this problem? 

 

Jeremiah

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 24 (539 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

They've included the option to label between points in 2013. I'm still using 2012 so in there or below you have to draw a line that extends the whole distance you want labeled. You can put this line in a no-plot layer, give it a no-plot color or send it to the back if you don't want it seen.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 6 of 24 (537 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Back in Eagle Point, you could JOIN all the segments and then it would label the line entirely, but that doesn't appear to work in C3D. 

 

I also tried to draw the line as a spline, but that wouldn't lable at all. 

 

Is there any other way to draw this line to get the label to workout? 

 

Thanks for your help. 

 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 24 (535 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

OK. Since my suggestion to draw a line that stretches from one end to the other of the vector you want to label didn't seem to work out for you. I'm thinking we're missing some information. I was envisioning the situation where you had parcels that shared a common line where each parcel needs it's own label but you want to label the overall on the common line.

Are these line segments at different angles? Are you looking for what would basically be the total length of a polyline? Can you post a screen shot of what you're trying to do?

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,835
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 8 of 24 (527 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 07:30 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

1. When you pedit that line and join all segments, use the LENGTHEN command and get the length.  Type it in.

 

OR

2.  Use the Autocad FIELD command and use it to get the length and label with MTEXT.

 

I guess the question is:  How many times a day do you need this?

 

Bill

 

 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 24 (526 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

For more detail on using a Fields and a Lisp that will do it automatically see [this] thread.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 24 (523 Views)

Re: Labeling a Line with multiple segments as one segment?

07-05-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

I attached a file with a segment and overall length label styles.

 

There are a number of ways to add labels to line and segments. Use the dialog to control what you add.

 

Type ADDLABELS at the comand line. Select the line and curve option from the drop down. Set the next dropdown to be Single Segment and add the overall lendth label. Set the dropdown for mult segs and add the segment length style.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.