AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
MHerranz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-05-2004
Message 1 of 10 (65 Views)

Label workaround?

65 Views, 9 Replies
02-10-2004 07:52 AM
I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can see enormous potential timesaving here!

My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext string?

Thanks in advance,
Marco
*Jon Rizzo
Message 2 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-10-2004 08:46 AM in reply to: MHerranz
Hi Marco, That kind of defeats the purpose. Labels have a bit more intelligence than ordinary MText strings, such as the ability to automatically adjust to the current viewport twist & scale. If you want, you can use the "export to autocad" command to create exploded mtext objects (and exploded everything else, too). -- Jon Rizzo Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc. "MHerranz" wrote in message news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can see enormous potential timesaving here! > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext string? > > Thanks in advance, > Marco
*Mark Scacco
Message 3 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-10-2004 09:03 AM in reply to: MHerranz
Not yet, but a number of requests have been made to have simple mtext react in a similar manner to labels. It would be a great feature! -- Mark Scacco "MHerranz" wrote in message news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can see enormous potential timesaving here! > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext string? > > Thanks in advance, > Marco
*James Wedding
Message 4 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-10-2004 09:16 AM in reply to: MHerranz
One of the tricks were using is to label things based on descriptions. This lets us put non-technical information in there, but still act as a label, i.e. "50' Landscaping Buffer" as a parcel description. Way cool, and read-right! -- James Wedding, P.E. IT Manager Jones & Boyd, Inc. Dallas, TX XP/1 on P4-1.6/512 LDT2004+C3D
Member
MHerranz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-05-2004
Message 5 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-10-2004 09:18 AM in reply to: MHerranz
Thanks Mark, you saved me some time pulling my hair out. If Autodesk needs votes on getting this feature, you have one from me.

Marco

PS Actually, two different settings can be introduced. One to make the Mtext *always* rotated zero degrees (about the insertion point), another one to simply make it readable (like the contours are now).
Member
MHerranz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-05-2004
Message 6 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-10-2004 03:18 PM in reply to: MHerranz
That did it!

Thanks for the help.

Marco
*Dave Simeone
Message 7 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-12-2004 04:45 PM in reply to: MHerranz
Hi all - Note that we've shared this request with the core AutoCAD team. It would definitely make sense if all text in a drawing had the same scaling and orientation behavior. No promises! Thanks Dave S "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message news:40290ae4_2@newsprd01... > Hi Marco, > > That kind of defeats the purpose. Labels have a bit more intelligence than > ordinary MText strings, such as the ability to automatically adjust to the > current viewport twist & scale. If you want, you can use the "export to > autocad" command to create exploded mtext objects (and exploded everything > else, too). > > -- > Jon Rizzo > Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc. > > > "MHerranz" wrote in message > news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can see > enormous potential timesaving here! > > > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext > string? > > > > Thanks in advance, > > Marco > >
*Adam Davis
Message 8 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-12-2004 11:53 PM in reply to: MHerranz
Dave, When I first saw this in C3D, I immediately saw the potential in vanilla AutoCAD. Add my tuppence worth (I'm in the UK - no cents here) to the list of requesters for this functionality in vanilla AutoCAD. Cheers, Adam -- Adam Davis Wish Software Limited 5 Biggar Road Silverburn EH26 9LQ UK tel: +44 (0)1968 670 899 fax: +44 (0)870 220 0875 mailto:adam@wishsoftware.com www.wishsoftware.com "Dave Simeone" wrote in message news:402c1e2d_2@newsprd01... > > Hi all - Note that we've shared this request with the core AutoCAD team. It > would definitely make sense if all text in a drawing had the same scaling > and orientation behavior. > > No promises! > > Thanks > Dave S > > > "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message > news:40290ae4_2@newsprd01... > > Hi Marco, > > > > That kind of defeats the purpose. Labels have a bit more intelligence > than > > ordinary MText strings, such as the ability to automatically adjust to the > > current viewport twist & scale. If you want, you can use the "export to > > autocad" command to create exploded mtext objects (and exploded everything > > else, too). > > > > -- > > Jon Rizzo > > Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc. > > > > > > "MHerranz" wrote in message > > news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > > > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can > see > > enormous potential timesaving here! > > > > > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext > > string? > > > > > > Thanks in advance, > > > Marco > > > > > >
*Laurie Comerford
Message 9 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-13-2004 12:36 PM in reply to: MHerranz
Hi Dave, It really is a core AutoCAD issue and it's a shame that the Civil Team had to use their resource to do it. However, the core team to add the essential functionality of checking for text overlap at different scales and make a set of pre-defined text moves to avoid the overlap. -- Laurie Comerford CADApps www.cadapps.com.au "Dave Simeone" wrote in message news:402c1e2d_2@newsprd01... > > Hi all - Note that we've shared this request with the core AutoCAD team. It > would definitely make sense if all text in a drawing had the same scaling > and orientation behavior. > > No promises! > > Thanks > Dave S > > > "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message > news:40290ae4_2@newsprd01... > > Hi Marco, > > > > That kind of defeats the purpose. Labels have a bit more intelligence > than > > ordinary MText strings, such as the ability to automatically adjust to the > > current viewport twist & scale. If you want, you can use the "export to > > autocad" command to create exploded mtext objects (and exploded everything > > else, too). > > > > -- > > Jon Rizzo > > Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc. > > > > > > "MHerranz" wrote in message > > news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > > > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can > see > > enormous potential timesaving here! > > > > > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple Mtext > > string? > > > > > > Thanks in advance, > > > Marco > > > > > >
*Adam Davis
Message 10 of 10 (65 Views)

Re: Label workaround?

02-13-2004 03:12 PM in reply to: MHerranz
Laurie, Next you'll be wanting a GIS - now come on!?! Have a great weekend everybody. Adam -- Adam Davis Wish Software Limited 5 Biggar Road Silverburn EH26 9LQ UK tel: +44 (0)1968 670 899 fax: +44 (0)870 220 0875 mailto:adam@wishsoftware.com www.wishsoftware.com "Laurie Comerford" wrote in message news:402d349b$1_2@newsprd01... > Hi Dave, > > It really is a core AutoCAD issue and it's a shame that the Civil Team had > to use their resource to do it. However, the core team to add the essential > functionality of checking for text overlap at different scales and make a > set of pre-defined text moves to avoid the overlap. > > -- > > > Laurie Comerford > CADApps > www.cadapps.com.au > > "Dave Simeone" wrote in message > news:402c1e2d_2@newsprd01... > > > > Hi all - Note that we've shared this request with the core AutoCAD team. > It > > would definitely make sense if all text in a drawing had the same scaling > > and orientation behavior. > > > > No promises! > > > > Thanks > > Dave S > > > > > > "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message > > news:40290ae4_2@newsprd01... > > > Hi Marco, > > > > > > That kind of defeats the purpose. Labels have a bit more intelligence > > than > > > ordinary MText strings, such as the ability to automatically adjust to > the > > > current viewport twist & scale. If you want, you can use the "export to > > > autocad" command to create exploded mtext objects (and exploded > everything > > > else, too). > > > > > > -- > > > Jon Rizzo > > > Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc. > > > > > > > > > "MHerranz" wrote in message > > > news:3109156.1076428411947.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > > > > I've just installed C3D because I heard about the label utility. I can > > see > > > enormous potential timesaving here! > > > > > > > > My question is: Is there a workaround to make it generate a simple > Mtext > > > string? > > > > > > > > Thanks in advance, > > > > Marco > > > > > > > > > > > >
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.