AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 1 of 31 (308 Views)

Label Objects on individual layers

308 Views, 30 Replies
10-04-2013 08:17 AM

C3D 2012 Win 7 Pro

 

I have Note label Style objects and Marker Style Objects that have layers assigned to them.  When I bring a Note label or Marker Style into the drawing, it comes in on the zero layer.  I know that the object layers of the drawing settings are controlling this.  Is it possible to have the Note labels and/or Markers come in on the assigned layers of their Styles?  What settings(s) achieve this?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,385
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 31 (301 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: civman_daar

Edit Drawing Settings>Object Layers tab...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 31 (288 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: civman_daar

I see that the Object layers for General Note Label and General Segment Label are set to C-ANNO

If I have a Note Style Object that is assigned a Layer of V-ANNO-UTIL-TEXT and assuming I set the General Note Label and General Segment Label to V-ANNO, per your example, will the labels come in on V-ANNO or the object assigned layer of  V-ANNO-UTIL-TEXT?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,385
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 31 (285 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: civman_daar

V-ANNO.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 31 (281 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: TRogers

I need the notes to come in on V-ANNO-UTIL-TEXT, V-ANNO-SITE-TEXT, etc.? I have probably 60 Note Style objects that go to different layers. Any Ideas?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,385
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 31 (273 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: civman_daar

Change the layer to the layer you want them to go on in the drawing settings like I posted in the pic.  If you change the layer to V-ANNO-UTIL-TEXT, it will come in on that layer.  

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 7 of 31 (266 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: civman_daar

Do you mean to say that I have to change the object layers every time for each individual layer?  Is there no way to ONLY use the layers assigned to the Note Style Objects, bypassing the object layers themselves? 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 31 (248 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 10:41 AM in reply to: civman_daar
Not that I know of.
I posted that on the wish list, RIP.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 9 of 31 (239 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 11:04 AM in reply to: troma

Sinc pac has a function that will have your lables automaticaly come in on the current layer.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,099
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 31 (229 Views)

Re: Label Objects on individual layers

10-04-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: civman_daar

You can set your destination current, create the labels that you want on that layer, select them using Select Similar or Quick Select and then use Laycur to bring them on to the current layer.

 

Allen Jessup

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!