AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
211 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-08-2003
Post 1 of 6

Label 3D length of a line

500 Views, 5 Replies
04-29-2013 10:59 AM

I did a search and did not find anything, anyone know how to label the 3D length of a line.

 

Thanks

Terry

 

Civil 3D 2013 (SP1)
Dell T3500
Win 7 Pro X64
Intel Xeon 3.2 GHz
24 GB ram
NVIDIA Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
4,592 Posts
908 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 2 of 6

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: terryl

Use an expression in the label style:

 

SQRT({General Segment Length}^2  + ({General Segment Start Z}-{General Segment End Z})^2)

 

4-29-2013 11-17-51 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
1,397 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 3 of 6

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: terryl

Jeff's solution is by far the easiest and fastest way in doing this.  I have attached a video on a different method in getting 3D length.  This is how we all learn from each other, right? :smileyhappy:  Here's the link...

 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zjrkyfwkz8ch83h/3D%20Length%20Annotation.wmv

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
68 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Post 4 of 6

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: TRogers

Ah equations. Who'd have thought one would ever need math as a draftsman? Funny how it seems that Autodesk is really testing our STEM curriculum these days....

Win7 (x64), EVGA 790i, 8GB RAM, EVGA 8800GT, 250 GB iSSHDD, & RAID 0/1
*Expert Elite*
2,525 Posts
263 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Post 5 of 6

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: Jeff_M
Pythagoras! What would we do without him?

I guess this works for a LINE, or for each segment of a 3D polyline or feature line. But what about the 3D total length of a 3D polyline or feature line?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
3,044 Posts
245 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 6 of 6

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: troma

Until they let us grap the overall starting z and ooverall ending z it ain't gonna happen OOTB. This has been one of my wishlist items.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post