AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
DNNdrafting
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-28-2014
Message 1 of 7 (204 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inversing

204 Views, 6 Replies
02-25-2014 01:37 PM

Can anybody explain this process? I fail to see the cogo button in my Draw panel? Using Civil 3D 2014.

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad-civil-3d/learn-explore/caas/documentation/CIV3D/2014/E...

I'm trying to create a points inverse report without creating a polyline, then using the Load Traverse from Polyline into the Coordinate Geometry Editor which then shows the inverses between points. I like to see more random inverses - point to point - point range etc.


DNNdrafting wrote:
One more wish would be to generate a station and perpendicular offset report
showing points along an existing alignment?


You can do that.

 

Toolspace > Toolbox > Reports Manager > Points > Station Offset to Points > Right Click and Execute.

Export it to Excel so that you can sort on your desired column (no sorting options in the command itself)

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,887
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 02:02 PM in reply to: DNNdrafting

I see what you mean.  Try changing your Workspace settings from Civil 3D to Planning & Analysis.  You should see the COGO dropdown there.

 

Bill

 

 

 

Member
DNNdrafting
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-28-2014
Message 3 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 02:18 PM in reply to: wfberry
Thanks Bill. I do see it. Any attempt to hit a button OR type in the
appropriate command yields "Unknown command"? Seems the Map functions are
not within Civil 3D?



Cheers:

Donald Nordstrom

DNN drafting 11701 87 Street

Grande Prairie, AB T8X 0H3

PH: (780) 897-3488 nord@telus.net
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 02:20 PM in reply to: DNNdrafting

There is also the Inquiry Tool on the Analysis tab that will do point inverses. Don't know if you will get that to the Mapcheck Tool for a travese segment though...

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,516
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (175 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 02:31 PM in reply to: DNNdrafting

DNNdrafting wrote:
Any attempt to hit a button OR type in the
appropriate command yields "Unknown command"? Seems the Map functions are
not within Civil 3D?


AFAIK, any "map" functions/commands that are duplicated by something in Civil 3D are left in an inaccessible state (such as you have found), so that KB article may be accurate but only for Map 3D, not Civil 3D

Member
DNNdrafting
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-28-2014
Message 6 of 7 (174 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 02:34 PM in reply to: jmayo
I can only Inverse between two points at a time only? I don't see where I
can enter a point range? Have not used the Mapcheck Tool before. Is that a
Map feature again?

One more wish would be to generate a station and perpendicular offset report
showing points along an existing alignment?





Cheers:

Donald Nordstrom

DNN drafting 11701 87 Street

Grande Prairie, AB T8X 0H3

PH: (780) 897-3488 nord@telus.net
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,516
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (163 Views)

Re: Inversing

02-25-2014 03:21 PM in reply to: DNNdrafting

DNNdrafting wrote:
One more wish would be to generate a station and perpendicular offset report
showing points along an existing alignment?


You can do that.

 

Toolspace > Toolbox > Reports Manager > Points > Station Offset to Points > Right Click and Execute.

Export it to Excel so that you can sort on your desired column (no sorting options in the command itself)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.