AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
jithukuttamath
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 1 of 9 (328 Views)

Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

328 Views, 8 Replies
12-07-2012 09:00 PM

cad 3d.JPG

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,363
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 9 (325 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-07-2012 09:42 PM in reply to: jithukuttamath

Google Earth imports are not supported in C3D2013. Search back in the group to see many other posts regarding this.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 3 of 9 (306 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

You could however try this

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/basejump

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,667
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 9 (300 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

rl_jackson wrote:

You could however try this


It doesn't matter, sir: the OP's looking for a way to import 3D terrain (vector) not imagery (raster).

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 5 of 9 (293 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thought that was included in basejump as a replacement to the GE import, Im not currently using 13

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,667
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 9 (286 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

As far as I know, the quickest way is to load a Dem file (e.g. a free Aster or SRTM) then create a surface based on it.

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 7 of 9 (279 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

If you were to consider third party software, take a look at MapWorks Base, it will import GE surfaces and restore many other GE related functions, such as KML export, Image Import and more.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 9 (262 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

As others have stated, this is no longer an option within C3D 2013. My personal thoughts on this (and I honestly haven't heard from anyone official) is that Google got tired of C3D users using their data without paying for it and decided the best way around that was to force Autodesk to remove that functionality.

 

If you are in the United States, HERE is an alternative method to using Google Earth (and honestly, even if I had Google Earth, I would probably still go this route).

 

It's not as quick as the Google Earth option but it's (in my opinion) better, and it's free, publicly available, do what you want with it, you payed for it as a tax payer, data.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,667
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 9 (257 Views)

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 12:22 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

BrianHailey wrote:
HERE is an alternative method

Already advised, Brian, exactly 3 posts ago (08-12-2012 05:55 PM), but... repetita iuvant, isn't it?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.