AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Post 1 of 9

Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

330 Views, 8 Replies
12-07-2012 09:00 PM

cad 3d.JPG

*Expert Elite*
4,592 Posts
908 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 2 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-07-2012 09:42 PM in reply to: jithukuttamath

Google Earth imports are not supported in C3D2013. Search back in the group to see many other posts regarding this.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Mentor
914 Posts
101 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Post 3 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

You could however try this

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/basejump

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 4 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

rl_jackson wrote:

You could however try this


It doesn't matter, sir: the OP's looking for a way to import 3D terrain (vector) not imagery (raster).

Distinguished Mentor
914 Posts
101 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Post 5 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thought that was included in basejump as a replacement to the GE import, Im not currently using 13

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 6 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

As far as I know, the quickest way is to load a Dem file (e.g. a free Aster or SRTM) then create a surface based on it.

Distinguished Mentor
520 Posts
84 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Post 7 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

If you were to consider third party software, take a look at MapWorks Base, it will import GE surfaces and restore many other GE related functions, such as KML export, Image Import and more.

*Expert Elite*
2,872 Posts
266 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 8 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: jithukuttamath

As others have stated, this is no longer an option within C3D 2013. My personal thoughts on this (and I honestly haven't heard from anyone official) is that Google got tired of C3D users using their data without paying for it and decided the best way around that was to force Autodesk to remove that functionality.

 

If you are in the United States, HERE is an alternative method to using Google Earth (and honestly, even if I had Google Earth, I would probably still go this route).

 

It's not as quick as the Google Earth option but it's (in my opinion) better, and it's free, publicly available, do what you want with it, you payed for it as a tax payer, data.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 9 of 9

Re: Inserting surface from Google Earth not showing in INSERT TAB

12-08-2012 12:22 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

BrianHailey wrote:
HERE is an alternative method

Already advised, Brian, exactly 3 posts ago (08-12-2012 05:55 PM), but... repetita iuvant, isn't it?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post