Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inserting points downloaded from a data collector

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
tjboyer
275 Views, 5 Replies

Inserting points downloaded from a data collector

Hello Group,

I am new to C3D and attempting to insert a data file containing survey/topo points that have been downloaded from a data collector. The data file format is PNEZD (comma delimited); the coordinates and elevations in the data file are in decimal units. When I insert the points into the drawing all the coordinate and elevation data is 1/12 the original value (i.e. original elevation 1200.0000 in the data file comes into the drawing labeled as 100.00'. How can I insert points and have them maintain their original values? Thanks for any help!
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: tjboyer

Did your file have roots back to Architectural files? Almost mandatory that your original Civil 3D file begin in Civil 3d with a "by style" or "by layer" template (depending on your choice.). Insert linework, etc into this file. Bill "tjboyer" wrote in message news:23382316.1106756680321.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Hello Group, > > I am new to C3D and attempting to insert a data file containing survey/topo points that have been downloaded from a data collector. The data file format is PNEZD (comma delimited); the coordinates and elevations in the data file are in decimal units. When I insert the points into the drawing all the coordinate and elevation data is 1/12 the original value (i.e. original elevation 1200.0000 in the data file comes into the drawing labeled as 100.00'. How can I insert points and have them maintain their original values? Thanks for any help!
Message 3 of 6
tjboyer

The file I inserted the points into was a new, empty file that was created in C3D.