AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
CivilDavid
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 4 (1,025 Views)

Inserting OLE (word document)

1025 Views, 3 Replies
01-12-2011 09:23 AM

I want to insert a word document into my drawing.  I've tried using OLE, but all i get is an icon of a word document that I can click on and it opens the document.  I want to display the document itself, I've never done this before so any help would be appreciated.

Valued Contributor
CivilDavid
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,025 Views)

Re: Inserting OLE (word document)

01-12-2011 09:34 AM in reply to: CivilDavid

so I opened the word document, used ctrl+A, then copy.  Then I switched to ACAD, paste special, paste as word document.  It worked.

 

Curious if anyone has another way to do it.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 4 (1,004 Views)

Re: Inserting OLE (word document)

01-12-2011 12:40 PM in reply to: CivilDavid

The way it worked for you is the way it's done.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
yamabeandhorn
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-22-2007
Message 4 of 4 (944 Views)

Re: Inserting OLE (word document)

01-17-2011 03:27 PM in reply to: CivilDavid

The way you listed last is the new way (more or less) to link the actual document to the CAD file. So if you update the wrod doc, the CAd file also updates. ( tips & tTricks Tutorial from Lynn Allen "Linking Excel Spreadsheets")

 

The Old School/Manual way would be Ctrl+A in the word doc then Ctrl+C then in CAD Start an Mtext String and paste it in there then update the  style/font with the Mtext editing tools.....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.