AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Post 1 of 10

Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

3862 Views, 9 Replies
10-14-2012 08:17 AM

Has anyone tried to insert Excel tables into 2013 3D?  It worked fine in 2012 but we just upgraded to 2013 and it no longer works.  We get an error message that Excel is not supported.  Is this a new feature or a bug?  Also, our old drawings with the table already inserted does not plot normally.  The table characters print at diffent sizes.

*Expert Elite*
2,872 Posts
266 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 2 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-14-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: jfletter

What method are you using to insert the table?

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
5,255 Posts
326 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Post 3 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-14-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi Brian, Is OLE or Data linking no longer supported?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
714 Posts
41 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Post 4 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-14-2012 03:43 PM in reply to: jfletter

Can yo post what version of Excel, or even better post the Excel file so we can test it?

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
5,255 Posts
326 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Post 5 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-14-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: klugb

Hi Bruce

 

I'm guessing you have not seen any anomolies

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
714 Posts
41 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Post 6 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-14-2012 05:22 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I wouldn't say that, but I don't get any error messages.

I have had issues with not everthing coming over when I mess with the font size.

 

Excel 2010.

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
618 Posts
71 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Post 7 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

10-15-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: jfletter

I'm using MS Excel 2010, I copy the spreadsheet range, use Paste Special, paste it as an Excel link, no problem.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Active Member
8 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Post 8 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

11-20-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

I'm having issues also. 

I'm using MS Excel 2007.  Sometimes my drawing opens up and states that the OLE link is broken and somehow reverts the Excel file back to the previous state before it was modified.  Very frustrating!

It also only plots the OLE object 50% of the time.  I tried it with different printers, plotters, and even the same thing plotting to PDF.  Fixing to have to give up on the OLE technique. 

David Schuler

Polywell Workstation
Intel Core i5-2400 @ 3.10 GHz
8 GB Ram
64 Bit Win7 OS
NVIDA GeForce GTS 450
Civil 3D 2013, SP1
*Expert Elite*
2,360 Posts
199 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Post 9 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

11-20-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: jfletter

Have you considered using a table object with the Data Link option?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Distinguished Mentor
520 Posts
84 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Post 10 of 10

Re: Inserting Excel Tables into Autocad Civil 3D 2013

11-20-2012 04:50 PM in reply to: Neilw

That is a much better approach than OLE, but if your spreadsheet isn't simple it can make a mess.

 

http://www.dotsoft.com/files/xl2cad-vs-tables.gif

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post