AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 1 of 8 (147 Views)

Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

147 Views, 7 Replies
10-16-2013 06:24 AM

We're using C3D 2013 SP2.  The survey company we use uses point styles to show the blocks.  Say they shoot a catchbasin.  Instead of inserting the block, the point shows up as the block.

I did a field check & needed to insert a missed CB.  When I inserted the block, the other points that were CBs disappeared.  I had to insert the block, copy it the clipboard, undo the insertion & then paste the block in.  It did this on other drawings & other blocks.

Any ideas why it would do this?

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 8 (124 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:06 AM in reply to: Topher5000
I bet the block you're using for the catchbasin is different but has the same name as the one they're using in the point style. Did you get asked if you wanted to redefine the block when you inserted yours? If a block is similar but 1000 times smaller, when you redefine it in the drawing it could make all the current ones in the drawing 1000 times smaller, thus disappearing to the naked eye.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 3 of 8 (121 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: Topher5000

No, I'm inserting the block that the point style uses & is already in the drawing.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 8 (116 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:24 AM in reply to: Topher5000
I should stop betting.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,060
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (111 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:37 AM in reply to: troma
thats funny
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,060
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (111 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: Topher5000
what happens if you copy a point?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
Topher5000
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 7 of 8 (104 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

It creates a duplicate point & asks if it should be renumbered.  The other points don't disappear though.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,060
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 8 (92 Views)

Re: Inserting a block deletes points with point style with same block

10-16-2013 11:33 AM in reply to: Topher5000
Right. So give it a number well beyond the numbers in the surveyors database and get a cup of coffee :smileyhappy:
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.