Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

insert and rotate blocks with attributes from a data table/file

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
barineau_clinton
1474 Views, 5 Replies

insert and rotate blocks with attributes from a data table/file

I've been working in AutoCAD for many years, but am new to Civil.  I've been able to insert a group of survey points from a text file and then replace those points with custom blocks.  Is it possible to link (or insert) these blocks to the table in such a way that they will be oriented according to a column that specifies their rotation angle (in this case, a bearing) and fills in an attribute for each block according to a separate column with the attribute data?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Clint

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
tcorey
in reply to: barineau_clinton

The short answer is yes, but more details will be needed.

First, do you know about the Description Keys feature of Civil 3D? If the rotation is a parameter embedded in the point description, you can get Civil 3d to automatically rotate the symbol to that value. No replacing of Civil 3D points with blocks is needed. Civil 3D will place a block as the point marker.

Second, where exactly is the rotation information coming from? You say you want to link or insert to a table. Do you mean a table in Excel or an AutoCAD table object or simply a text file with point data columns?

Tim Corey
MicroCAD Training and Consulting, Inc.
Redding, CA
Autodesk Gold Reseller

New knowledge is the most valuable commodity on earth. -- Kurt Vonnegut
Message 3 of 6
barineau_clinton
in reply to: tcorey

Tim,

Thanks very much for taking the time to respond.  I am vaguely familiar with the Description Key feature (seems like I remember that from a tutorial) and will go back to read up on the topic.