AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
caddirt
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-29-2010
Message 1 of 9 (1,141 Views)

Importing .TIN file

1141 Views, 8 Replies
08-14-2013 11:09 AM

Can anyone brief me on how to open a .tin? I tried to create a surface from a TIN as one way but it is looking for .pnt. as well.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,740
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 9 (1,134 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-14-2013 11:30 AM in reply to: caddirt

If you're talking about the _IMPORTSURFACE command, it looks for a pair .TIN/.PNT created by Autocad Land Desktop: search better in your hard disk, sir.

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 3 of 9 (1,120 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-14-2013 12:37 PM in reply to: caddirt

It's probably a Bentley/GeoPak TIN and in a proprietary format designed to encourage you to buy their software.  It's truly sad that large developers can't collaborate and use documented data formats.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 9 (1,078 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-15-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

TerryDotson wrote:

....It's truly sad that large developers can't collaborate and use documented data formats.


Terry, isn't that what LandXML is for?

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 5 of 9 (1,077 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-15-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: tcorey

Having it and USING it (as in producing it by default) are two entirely different things.

Distinguished Contributor
mike.barkasi
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 6 of 9 (1,066 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-15-2013 12:57 PM in reply to: caddirt

Terry..

 

Are you complaining about Autodesks Inability to interoperate with other software vendors such as Bentley Systems?

 

It may help if Autodesk start by creating compatible file types withing their own software.

 

Mike barkasi

Bentley Civil

 

PS Land XML has not had an update since 2008. I Could be mistaken but I understood this would not be developed further moving forward. This may be the case as new terrains and geometries by Bentley Systems (and autodesk Im guessing) contain information and rules the current XML format never anticipated.

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 7 of 9 (1,054 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-15-2013 03:08 PM in reply to: mike.barkasi

Are you complaining about Autodesks Inability to interoperate with other software vendors such as Bentley Systems?

 

I'm complaining about any company that produces binary data files that are undocumented.  That includes Autodesk, Bentley, Microsoft and more.  At least Microsoft has made a step in the right direction with XLSx, DOCx, etc.  The DATA files produced by an application are SUPPOSED to belong to the user for their use (including providing it to others), not as a sales tool for the application developer.

 

Land XML has not had an update since 2008. I Could be mistaken but I understood this would not be developed further moving forward.

 

That is sad because it did at least represent an export option.   But users don't work in export formats, they work in the native format of the application and many times won't co-operate on exports.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,130
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 9 (1,030 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-16-2013 08:26 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

"Land XML has not had an update since 2008. I Could be mistaken but I understood this would not be developed further moving forward."

 


I guess "Game On" then. The Civl 3D leadership will need to step up the quality control to stay competitive.

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 9 of 9 (998 Views)

Re: Importing .TIN file

08-23-2013 05:57 AM in reply to: caddirt

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/PNT-files/td-p/3369663

 

Provide you some useful information instead of some sales pitch.

 

If you have an further information on where you acquired the tin file from that would be helpful.  It is possible that the pnt pair exists and the original reply stated, but it's also possible that some other software created the tin file, and yes, just because it has the correct file extension, doesn't mean it's the correct language for your software..... learned this the hard way years ago myself.

 

EDIT:  As the link suggests and without elaborating on whats stated, there are numerous ways to recreate the tin but it can be time consuming, a shift in liability, and because of the high probability of errors.... xml is the preferred method.

 

I will agree, that it is a shame that Companies refuse to go open source with CAD content and formats.  Open source is the way to go, then just let the user choose what software they want to use to manipulate the content.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!