Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing Styles and Settings from Ribbon

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
RCBmstg007
457 Views, 9 Replies

Importing Styles and Settings from Ribbon

I am having trouble getting this to work. I can usaully get all the styles import and overwrite correctly. The problem I have is the settings. I have a master dwg with most of the settings that are not stock. After I import into another clean drawing, only some of the settings are there.

Please see one of my workflows below:

If in Drawing 1 you change some of the Settings in the object Layers Tab. Save the file. Open a new drawings (Drawing 2). Save the drawing 2. Then MANAGE tab and select IMPORT. Select the Drawing 1. After import go look at the settings on the Object Layer Tab. Did you see anything change? I did not... It said it also imported 1100 settings. I do not see where those settings are and referring too.

The only other way that was explained to me is to insert all my drawings (with existing civil3d entities) into the master so i would have all the settings. however when I do that, I get a lot of errors and my surface names all show a (1).

Thanks for any help!

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Jay_B
in reply to: RCBmstg007

You are absolutely correct, the Import Styles Tool does not bring all Settings along for the ride.

Pretty useful tool for bringing some styles into drawings but cannot be relied on for Feature Settings and Command Settings etc.

C3D 2018.1
C3D 2016 SP4

Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Message 3 of 10
RCBmstg007
in reply to: Jay_B

What would you recommend as an alternate solution possibly? I have an old drawing that i want to use the new custom settings in another file.

Message 4 of 10
Jay_B