AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 1 of 16 (209 Views)

Importing Data

209 Views, 15 Replies
02-18-2013 07:36 AM

Hi, I am having problem importing data from two different source. The first one is hypso data and is supposed to be in lat / long from the CSRS. When I import the shape file in C3D using these specification, the white arrow appears in the center of the drawing, and everything seems fine.

Now then, I have those data point from land survey with a GPS I wish to had to my surface. When I import my text file ( which is in P - X - Y - Z format ), the point appears way offside of the hypso drawing.

So I was wondering, how can I know the system in which those point were recorded. Once I know this, how can I speicify to C3D that the hypso is in a certain system, and the GPS point in another one, so that they will come togheter ? Thanks !

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 2 of 16 (201 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: M_RR

Before you start importing anything, right click on your drawing name in the seetings tab of toolspace and make sure that the coordinate system in your drawing is set (See screenshot). The easiest way would be to set it to the same system that the survey information was delivered in. 

The shapefile will be converted from whatever datum it is in to the datum your drawing is using. That should fall in line with the points from your surveyor. The only way to be certain about which datum the surveyor used is to ask. Never assume anything.

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 3 of 16 (189 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: M_RR

Hi,

I already checked this, I forgot to mention in the opening question !

But my drawing setting are set in the same coordinate as my shapefile. And I checked it was good. The problem comes when I try to add the GPS point from the land survey. They appear very far, in plan view, from the surface of the shape files.... 

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 16 (188 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: M_RR

Make sure that your X and Y values aren't switched

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 5 of 16 (175 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: M_RR

Hi again,

I tryed this, I switched the value and imported the point. They are still very far from the shape file in plan view ! :smileysad:

 

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 16 (173 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:39 AM in reply to: M_RR

If your drawing's zone is set to Lat and Long., you need to make sure the point file is also Lat. Long. If your point file is state plane Northing and Easting, you have to set the drawing zone to the proper coordinate zone, import your points and then import the shapefile. It is unusual (at least aoround here) for a point file to be in Lat. Long. The software will transform the shapefiles to the propeor location, but it can't do that with a .csv point file.

Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 7 of 16 (170 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: M_RR

Yes. I agree with you, but I was so desperate I tryed many weird thing hoping it would work. Normaly, I would set the Nad-83 + the zone... but when I do this, the hypso looks in good place in plan view, but the points goes way out ! 

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 8 of 16 (160 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: M_RR

Are the points in a survey database? If so, what coordinate zone is it set to? Are you mixing meters and feet? Do you have an aerial or something you can drop in to verify that the points are wrong? If you're sure of the validity of the shapefile location, then it sounds like you need to ask the surveyor that provided the points what he did.

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 9 of 16 (158 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:48 AM in reply to: M_RR

You will have to ask the person who created/provided the file what system it is in if they did not add any meta data to the file.

 

Once you know the two different systems you should make two seperate drawings with the appropriate system settings applied to each. Then you can use the map querry tools to bring data from one drawing into the other and have it converted.

 

Or, you could set up a survey database with system A, import one set of data, then set the drawing to system B and import the data from the survey database.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Active Contributor
M_RR
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
Message 10 of 16 (155 Views)

Re: Importing Data

02-18-2013 09:51 AM in reply to: M_RR

The point were taken usuing a GPS.

They do not appears to be " good " because when I superpose a google earth surface, its comes in good agreement with the shape files, but the points aren't even in the same country I guess ! I really have no clue about what is happening, I know there is a issue with the reference system, but I don't know anything else.. Is there a " standard " GPS reference system used in Cad drawing ? (maybe the question sounds a bit stupid, but am getting confused now...)

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.