AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
SeattleCADD
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎02-27-2009
Message 1 of 5 (585 Views)
Accepted Solution

Import LiDAR from GIS shape files

585 Views, 4 Replies
06-20-2013 01:25 PM

Hello All,

 

I wanted to import a shape file from GIS, but all contours elevations are 0. The attribute data on contours have ID elevation. How do I querry those ID elevation to the contours?

 

Thank you!

Dennis

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,959
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (563 Views)

Re: Import LiDAR from GIS shape files

06-20-2013 05:20 PM in reply to: SeattleCADD

Here is one way from a few years ago.

http://map3d.wordpress.com/?s=contours

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (556 Views)

Re: Import LiDAR from GIS shape files

06-20-2013 08:21 PM in reply to: SeattleCADD

Hi Dennis

 

have you tried the surface panel>>>surface from GIS data? Is skips the whole import object data bla bla bla. Shp directly into surface.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,959
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (538 Views)

Re: Import LiDAR from GIS shape files

06-21-2013 04:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

Hi Dennis

 

have you tried the surface panel>>>surface from GIS data? Is skips the whole import object data bla bla bla. Shp directly into surface.


Joe,

I make the kids walk to school for a while then when they do ride the bus they are more appreciated of it. :smileyhappy:

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (535 Views)

Re: Import LiDAR from GIS shape files

06-21-2013 04:19 AM in reply to: Murph
That funny. You are right - one does need to scrape their knuckles under the hood to get a feel for how it runs
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.