AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
marcoarmstrong7258
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,177 Views)

Import Google Earth Image and Surface

2177 Views, 5 Replies
02-04-2013 12:45 PM

I have no problem bringing my google earth image and surface into autocad civil 3d 2011...but when I do bring it in the elevations are not correct...I'm bringing in a google image that have an island over water.... the units are wrong even though i changes to units in autocad...what do I have to do in order for google earth to import the correct elevation into autocad civil 3d 2011 ?

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,937
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 6 (2,140 Views)

Re: Import Google Earth Image and Surface

02-05-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: marcoarmstrong7258

For starters:

 

Toolspace->Settings->Units and Zone.   You need an "Available Coordinates System" set here.

 

Bill

 

 

Valued Contributor
gunnarl
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎11-08-2006
Message 3 of 6 (2,128 Views)

Re: Import Google Earth Image and Surface

02-05-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: wfberry

The INSUNITS setting will affect items imported from google earth. I can't remember what the setting needs to be, but i know leaving it at UNITLESS doesn't bring the items in at the correct scale or elevation. The setting should be Foot, Inches or Meters, i can't remember which one i found works. I'm don't have 2011 or 2012 available right now, otherwise i would check for you.

Active Contributor
w_davis
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 4 of 6 (2,123 Views)

Re: Import Google Earth Image and Surface

02-05-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: marcoarmstrong7258

Maybe look in ArcGIS for AutoCAD, it is a free download from the ERIS site and it works great for me, the GIS shows up on my ribbon and I can load a basemap, which is basically Google Earth but as far as elevations go....my discoveries have not brought me an answer yet...

Active Contributor
w_davis
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 5 of 6 (2,116 Views)

Re: Import Google Earth Image and Surface

02-05-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: w_davis

**Correction** ESRI

Contributor
marcoarmstrong7258
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 6 of 6 (2,095 Views)

Re: Import Google Earth Image and Surface

02-06-2013 04:40 AM in reply to: marcoarmstrong7258

OK I just recognize that the elevations in Google earth itself are reading crazy..I'm trying to get elevations around a island from a tunnel that goes under water. I also checked the elevations on land and there all reading incorrectly in Google earth itself. Any suggestions?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.