AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 1 of 7 (345 Views)

import fbk

345 Views, 6 Replies
10-31-2012 10:49 AM

I created a fbk with trimble business center. The fbk is all coordinates. C3D 2012 implys this fbk is all control points.

 

Is there a way to import a fbk so that c3d reads the points as non-control points?

 

Is there a way to change the points attributes to non-control? 

 

Is there a toggle in C3D so I can edit multiple points before regenerating the network?

 

Thanks.

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 2 of 7 (330 Views)

Re: import fbk

10-31-2012 03:00 PM in reply to: lambertb

Instead just import a ascii text file. Then it wont use the FBK stuff.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 267
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 3 of 7 (313 Views)

Re: import fbk

11-01-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: lambertb

Edit the field book file and change the "NE" or "NEZ" commands to "NE SS".

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 4 of 7 (284 Views)

Re: import fbk

11-05-2012 05:39 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

We have and are looking at ascii files but the way c3d reads them with attrubutes has been giving us some problems. When are working on a stylesheet from TBC that will work with c3d. It is not very useful that civil 3d does not seems to allow attribute names to be imported via csv. It seems to only read values.

 

Our current csv line is similar to

 

Point,Northing,Easting,Elevation,Code Attribute Value Attribute Value... /Note

 

Has anyone gotten c3d to read a line similar to

 

Point,Northing,Easting,Elevation,Code,Note,Attribute Name,Attribute Value,Attribute Name,Attribute Value ...

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 5 of 7 (272 Views)

Re: import fbk

11-05-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: lambertb

C3D will not use the additional informatino natively, upon import with out the use of UDP's. Then things just seem to get a little convoluted. I guessing that this may be an equipment function/ collector function - that works well for the DC but is quite burdensome to get into C3D at the moment. Out of curiousity what equipment are you using?

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 6 of 7 (265 Views)

Re: import fbk

11-05-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: rl_jackson

We use Trimble collectors and with TBC we can export any format ascii using style sheets. I don't have a good gripe on how c3d can utilize attributes and notes but at this time it seems poor to me when it comes to importing them.

 

We are trying for the

 

Point,Northing,Easting,Elevation,Code,Note,Attribute Name,Attribute Value,Attribute Name,Attribute Value ...

 

but I don't think c3d will let us use the attribute name column.

 

What's a UDP?

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 7 of 7 (260 Views)

Re: import fbk

11-05-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: lambertb

UDP? User Defined Propeties

 

You may also what to look at Survey Extended Properties

 

This all depends on the Data your trying to Import.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.