AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
John7
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
Message 1 of 7 (304 Views)

How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

304 Views, 6 Replies
09-14-2011 11:59 AM

This is a pretty basic question but I need to know.

 

We export many of our alignment etc C3D drawings to AutoCAD before sharing them with other subs (depending on whether they are using AutoCAD 2002 LT, MicroStation, etc.)

 

We have a habit of renaming the file before sending it, removing the ACAD- prefix and restoring the original file name.

 

So my question is, when looking at two idential file names, how does one determine if its C3D or just vanila AutoCAD? Is there a way in (file) Explorer or upon opening with C3D can I quiry something? (I don't want to resort to checking alignment entities are C3D and not just arcs and lines.).

 

Thanks

 

John

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 7 (293 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 12:32 PM in reply to: John7

John7,

 

Since we have many styles and settings set up in our template drawing, the lack of  said styles would indicate that the drawing has been exported.

 

all the styles would be standard and all the settings layer zero if it was a acad export.

 

Dan

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 3 of 7 (290 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 12:35 PM in reply to: John7

We've adopted a different technique. Our drawings start with a 'C3D-' prefix for our Civil 3D design files, and we remove the prefix for any exported files. It really helps keep them straight for us.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 4 of 7 (288 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 12:43 PM in reply to: John7

The one thing to look at is in Civil3D the surfaces, corridors, and such are grouped together like a block or xref when picked.  After the export these items become individual entities.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (272 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 01:53 PM in reply to: John7

So basically, afaik and the consensus here, the answer to your question is no.

 

There is no way to tell in windows explorer without opening the drawing and looking at either objects in the drawing or styles.  If anyone can tell me otherwise I would be very interested.

 

Personally, when I export a drawing I always leave the ACAD prefix, and add the year to it too.  So you end up with a file called 'ACAD2004...' or 'ACAD2002...' etc.  Then you know what you've got.  (But this requires everyone in the office to do the same thing.....)


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,756
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 7 (261 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 02:22 PM in reply to: John7

John7 wrote:

This is a pretty basic question but I need to know.

 

We export many of our alignment etc C3D drawings to AutoCAD before sharing them with other subs (depending on whether they are using AutoCAD 2002 LT, MicroStation, etc.)

 

We have a habit of renaming the file before sending it, removing the ACAD- prefix and restoring the original file name.

 

So my question is, when looking at two idential file names, how does one determine if its C3D or just vanila AutoCAD? Is there a way in (file) Explorer or upon opening with C3D can I quiry something? (I don't want to resort to checking alignment entities are C3D and not just arcs and lines.).

 

Thanks

 

John


Two identical files names with different content = recipe for potential disaster....!!!!!!

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 7 (252 Views)

Re: How to tell if a dwg is C3D or just AutoCAD?

09-14-2011 02:59 PM in reply to: neilyj

A sure way is to open each drawing and use QSELECT to see if any C3D objects show up. Another approach might be to use Design Center to list all the blocks in the files. You would need to run some tests to determine what blocks appear in a C3D dwg vs. a C3D dwg that has been converted to ACAD.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.