AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 831
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 11 (1,357 Views)

How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

1357 Views, 10 Replies
10-24-2007 02:20 PM
is there a way to stop the synchronization at the start? i would like to synchoronze manually later.

any system variables?
Civil 3D 2014
Work: i7 4770, SSD, 16GB, K2000, Dell PH2414H
Home: i7 3930k, SSD, 16GB, GTX 590, U3011
Distinguished Contributor
mwright
Posts: 697
Registered: ‎11-07-2006
Message 2 of 11 (1,357 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

10-24-2007 02:22 PM in reply to: wang890
not sure about system variables, but you can always copy the drawing to your local machine and unhook the network cable.

just a thought that might help.

Matt
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 3 of 11 (1,357 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

10-25-2007 10:01 AM in reply to: wang890
Promote?

or Civil 3d 2007 pre-SP3.
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 831
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 4 of 11 (1,357 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

10-25-2007 10:31 AM in reply to: wang890
if that's the solution then forget it. other people has to share my alignments and profiles.

what a stupid function the promote is.
Civil 3D 2014
Work: i7 4770, SSD, 16GB, K2000, Dell PH2414H
Home: i7 3930k, SSD, 16GB, GTX 590, U3011
Active Contributor
juliarh
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎10-16-2007
Message 5 of 11 (1,269 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

02-14-2011 04:10 PM in reply to: wang890

I'm replying to this to see if there are any new answers.  The original question was posted in 2007.

 

I'm working with C3D 2010 and synchronizing references when I open a drawing is bogging down my system and I can't open the file.

 

I've tried recover.  It runs an audit, finds no errors, then starts synchronizing the references and I get nowhere.

 

The annoying part is that I don't need the references sychronized.  I KNOW that they haven't changed since I saved.  In fact, I don't even need them in the drawing.  I needed them there earlier, but I don't need them there permanently.  Now I can't even load this drawing as an xref in another drawing because it keeps getting stuck on synchronize.  And I can't remove the references because I can't open the file.

 

Please, please, please... Somebody from Autodesk please address this!

 

Oh, and promote is useful in some situations.  But that is NOT a good solution to this problem.

Member
NoXrefs
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-05-2012
Message 6 of 11 (921 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

12-05-2012 08:18 PM in reply to: juliarh

All I know is that this is total BS.  I have asking Autodesk for the last 8 years to give us way to open these g.d. drawings without references, and they've never figured it out.  I've been sitting here for 15 minutes waiting on a drawing THAT IS ON MY DESKTOP to open while trying to synchronize references.

 

FIGURE IT OUT.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,793
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 11 (915 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

12-05-2012 09:10 PM in reply to: wang890
They can figure it out, it's just that not enough people have asked for that feature to be implemented. At least, that's my take on it.

Sounds like your issue is that syncronization is slow and not that things are syncing upon open. While I can't offer any meaningful suggestions on how to speed up sync, I can suggest renaming the source files temporarily so they cannot be found so the sync doesn't happen.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Contributor
tspoon005
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-19-2011
Message 8 of 11 (789 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

04-10-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: wang890

I have the opposite problem, my drawing opens but won't synchronize a few of the data references until I manually sync them.  This makes publishing an issue because when I publish, it opens the drawing from scratch (with unsynched data refs) and plots, but the end result has my profiles way off.

 

Any way to get it fully synched upon opening?

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 9 of 11 (757 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

04-12-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: tspoon005

tspoon005 wrote:

I have the opposite problem, my drawing opens but won't synchronize a few of the data references until I manually sync them.  This makes publishing an issue because when I publish, it opens the drawing from scratch (with unsynched data refs) and plots, but the end result has my profiles way off.

 

Any way to get it fully synched upon opening?


Check this thread out.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Profiles-Not-Synchronizing-upon-Open/td-p/3667120 

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
New Member
vrusso
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-29-2010
Message 10 of 11 (173 Views)

Re: How to stop synchronizing data reference when opening a drawing?

10-03-2014 11:10 AM in reply to: doni49

Using C3D 2014 and I am running into this issue.

File xref management and Data shortcuts are being stored through a Projectwise enviroment to add to the complication.

 

I have multipule Data Shortcuts: surfaces, alignments and Pipe Networks that are being used to create profiles all which I know have not changed, and the drawing upon openning tries to synchronize all the data shortcuts as a result prevents the drawing from openning.

 

Has anyone identified a means of turning this off/on on startup?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.