AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
metchebes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 1 of 8 (266 Views)

How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

266 Views, 7 Replies
07-04-2012 12:55 AM

Hi

 

I created a 3D raster surface from point cloud using create from point cloud tool ( Planning and analysis workspace, create tab). Now I would like to cut/slice this surface to be able to offset one part related to the other.

Does anyone knows how to do it? I tried with the slice tool but I can only select the object and after nothing happens.

 

thanks a lot in advance

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (265 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 12:57 AM in reply to: metchebes

Hi,

 

add a new boundary to the current surface.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
metchebes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 3 of 8 (264 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 12:59 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I need more details :smileyhappy: I m new user

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (261 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 01:17 AM in reply to: metchebes

Hi,

 

does this help?

Create a closed polyline, then go to the Civil3D-projectbrowse, find your surface, go to the edits for your surface and add the new polyline to the borders.

 

Civil_SurfaceNewBorder_2013_AN01.gif

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,748
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 8 (260 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: metchebes

metchebes wrote:

I created a 3D raster surface


What do you mean with "3D raster surface", sir?

A 3D surface may only be vector, so if you wanna slice it, you first have to solidify it.

Member
metchebes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 6 of 8 (255 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 03:46 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

So it's in planning and Analysis workspace and I did like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZj4nHpcMDw

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,748
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 8 (253 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 04:01 AM in reply to: metchebes

metchebes wrote:

So it's in planning and Analysis workspace and I did like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZj4nHpcMDw 


Well, in that video he generated a raster Dem file, which you can stylize but not edit in Autocad environment.

Again, if you'd like to slice, trim, hole and whatever else a surface, you gotta first create it as a vector one, then explode it twice, solidify it, and finally you can edit it as a thin solid.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 8 (250 Views)

Re: How to slice a 3D raster surface ?

07-04-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: metchebes

Hi,

 

you have Civil3D, then you can create a Civil3D-surface based on the pointcloud and that can be limited to any area defined by poly like I showed in the video.

Also you mentioned that you like to "offset" anything. I agree also to antoniovinci that you will first have to get a vector-format to be able to use offset-command(s).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!