Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a stepped surface ?

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
x_pro_10
2152 Views, 16 Replies

How to make a stepped surface ?

Hello there,

I am a civil Engineer. I have surveying data for the topography of the project that I work in.

I created a surface in Civil 3d by importing the points from a CSV excel file.

I named my new surface as NGL (Natural Ground Level)

Now I want to calculate the volumes of the required excavation.

We have many retaining walls on our site,because the terrain is very rigid, and hence the excavated surface will look like "Steps".

I would like to create a new surface represents the excavated topography in order then to compare the two surfaces and analyze the total cut/fill volumes of the project.

I've been trying to make stepped topography with a 90 degree angle, no slopes nor grading, but I failed !

Can anyone tell me please how to accomplish this ?!

Thanks in forward.

My Regards.

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: x_pro_10

Not quite enough information :
Did you create a separate surface?
Did you add break line data to represent the steps?
Is that data in the form of feature lines or 3dpoly lines,

Your Name
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

Your Name

EESignature

Message 3 of 17
autoMick

You will have trouble creating a Civil3d surface which has 90 degree steps - as Civil3d is in fact Civil2.5D and cannot handle true 3D surfaces.