AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
dcouch
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 1 of 6 (202 Views)

How to label a part of an arc

202 Views, 5 Replies
03-31-2013 09:49 AM

I have C3D 2012.  I want to label a part of an arc.  The arc has 3 lines that intersect it.  I want to label the overall arc and the pieces of the arc.  The overall arc is not a problem.  How can I label the parts of the arc without breaking it up??

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: dcouch

4 parcels should do that, but seems like a lot of effort for the return

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 6 (167 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 04:21 PM in reply to: dcouch

The best thing I can think of is to copy and break and label. You could use parcels and have parcel segments connect to the arc and then do a spanning label on the one side (entire length) and regular labels on the other side (individual pieces) but that seems like a lot of extra effort if these aren't already parcel segments.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,289
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 6 (145 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 09:17 PM in reply to: dcouch

If you insert elevation points on the arc the labels can apply to the pieces between the elevation points. Likewise if lines in the same site intersect the arc.

 

Is there some reason that doesn't work guys?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (125 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

04-01-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: dcouch

Well.... You really can't without breaking it up. Might be able to in 2014. In 2013 you can label lines by points.

 

What I usually do is copy the arc to a no plot layer or give a copy a no plot color. Then break it in to the segments I want to label. You just have to redefine each arc if there is a change in the overall.

 

Allen Jessup


Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400, Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit,12 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 4600

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,289
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (117 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

04-01-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: dcouch

http://screencast.com/t/jRYiQAGTQW

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.