AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
gregorjev
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
Message 1 of 3 (555 Views)

How to create a profiles trough bridge or tunnel etc

555 Views, 2 Replies
01-21-2013 07:45 AM

Hi,

 

I'm tottaly new in Civil 3D. I'm using 3D laser scanner to measure nad lately draw 3D "as build" models of tunnels, bridges etc. So now I have 3D model of bridge, wich is simply created with layers, 3d faces, boxes etc. - primitive ACAD 3D modelling.

Now I want to create sections on multiple stacions. How to start? Is there any step by step tut with this feature?

Many thanks.

Valued Contributor
brian.strandberg
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 2 of 3 (543 Views)

Re: How to create a profiles trough bridge or tunnel etc

01-21-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: gregorjev

A TIN in Civil 3d will not work well with a tunnel as one surface.  A single XY point can only have one Z value.  A TIN cannot model overhangs as in a tunnel.

 

You may be able to use more than one TIN surface (one for the bottom, one for the top).

 

 

Contributor
quinndbq
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 3 of 3 (496 Views)

Re: How to create a profiles trough bridge or tunnel etc

01-24-2013 03:05 PM in reply to: gregorjev

To create section views at station intervals along a baseline, you need to do the following:

1. Create an alignment in C3D for the baseline.  You can start with a polyline, then convert this to an alignment.  This will be used for stationing.

2. Create sample lines along the alignment.  You must select C3D sources (surfaces, corridors, pipe networks) that are to be included in the sections.  Also, you will specify the swath width and intervals for which you want the section views created.

3. And finally, once the sample lines are created, you will need to create section views.  C3D will create a section view for each sample line created in the previous step.

 

There are quite a few styles that will come into play in order for the section views to look nice.  But these steps will hopefully start you down the right path.

 

The solids you created will not who up on your section views, but if you do create surfaces of the top & bottom half, as suggested, you can show the tunnel as a boundary in your section views.

 

Hope this helps.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.