Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you export a Civil 3D Surface to Agtek

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
wadeburcham4557
4378 Views, 13 Replies

How do you export a Civil 3D Surface to Agtek

Anyone know if you can export a Civil 3d Surface to Agtek?

Thanks,

Wade

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
wfberry
in reply to: wadeburcham4557

Does AGTEK utilize LandXML ?

Bill

Message 3 of 14
wadeburcham4557
in reply to: wfberry

I don't think so.

Message 4 of 14
Avera737

You can export a C3D surface to a .dem file.  Then you can use MicroDEM to convert the .dem file into a text file you can then import into Agtek.

MicroDEM can be found here: http://www.usna.edu/Users/oceano/pguth/website/microdem/microdemdown.htm

Message 5 of 14

I've never used Agtek before so please take that into consideration as you read this.

First of all, double check and make sure Agtek can't bring in a LandXML file. That will be by far the easiest way to transfer the data.

If it can't, perhaps it will be able to read triangles in a .dwg. Assign a style to your surface that displays the triangles, select the surface and on the ribbon (I believe it's under Surface Tools as I don't have C3D on this computer) and choose Extract Objects. Extract the triangles and wblock them out to a different drawing.

If that doesn't work, I would be willing to bet that it can read contours in a drawing (this would be the least desirable method because all contours are a lie). Do the same as I suggested for the triangles except extract the contours.

Hope this helps.

Brian J. Hailey, P.E.

GEI Consultants
My Civil 3D Blog

Message 6 of 14

Yep, doesnt' accept landxml and I'm a little concerned about the microdem due to all the talk about viruses.  Can't believe there is not a good way to export to the Agtek