AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
47 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-04-2014
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

how do i rotate the points to fit in

126 Views, 6 Replies
08-15-2014 02:15 PM

i created a database from joel slab point file i uploaded

Then i have to translate the database joel slab to GEOTEX POINT FILE i uploaded also but to rotate the joel slab points to geotex point becomes difficult. 

I DONT KNOW HOW TO ROTATE IT TO BE THE SAME THING AS GEOTEX because most of the points are the same apart from level 01 point.

In the real world:

S3=S3B

S4=S4B

G75=G75B

G89=G89B

 

Big,

 

Since you've got one common point, two inverses and a little math will give you your rotation angle. That's the hard way. The easy way is to use the ALIGN command and select the drawing points you want to rotate. Then you'd need to re-import the rotated points back into the Survey Database. 

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
1,795 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 2 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-15-2014 11:35 PM in reply to: bigexploit

In the real world

The world you're talking about is NOT real indeed, sir.

  1. in the true world, coordinates belonging to 10^3 order don't exist (see JOEL SLAB 2.txt)
  2. in the true world, northing coordinates like 97,98 don't exist (see geotex2.txt)

Please convert everything to UTM coordinates (for instance) and come back here: good luck!

Active Contributor
47 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-04-2014
Post 3 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-16-2014 09:18 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

hmmmmmmmm

Maybe you did not understand my problem.

I had two text files, one is joel slab and the other is geotex.

Now i created a database from joel slab point file and translate the database to geotex point file. The result is what you saw on the transformation drawing i also uploaded.

WHERE YOU GET 97,98 NORTH IS WHAT I DONT UNDERSTAND.

The point with description(level01) was actually the point that i measured new and i needed it.

So if i rotate it with the correct angle and they are fixed the way the point number 2 (joel slab)was fitted with point number 13(geotex),  then i will be glad.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
1,138 Posts
135 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Post 4 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-16-2014 10:16 AM in reply to: bigexploit

Big,

 

You've probably already figured out that the Survey Database doesn't allow you to easily move points. I think what you'll have to do is either a ROTATE or ALIGN by selecting Drawing Points. Once you're happy with them, then you'll need to re-Import them into your Database.

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Active Contributor
47 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-04-2014
Post 5 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-16-2014 03:05 PM in reply to: Pointdump
Dave ,
when i translated the database i could not figure out the angle i should used to rotate it.
so all am asking how do i know the angle
thanks for your input.
*Expert Elite*
1,138 Posts
135 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Post 6 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-16-2014 04:01 PM in reply to: bigexploit

Big,

 

Since you've got one common point, two inverses and a little math will give you your rotation angle. That's the hard way. The easy way is to use the ALIGN command and select the drawing points you want to rotate. Then you'd need to re-import the rotated points back into the Survey Database. 

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Active Contributor
47 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-04-2014
Post 7 of 7

Re: how do i rotate the points to fit in

08-16-2014 05:25 PM in reply to: Pointdump
waoooh waoooh thanks so much pretty easy and simple it works
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!