AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 1 of 8 (4,639 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do I remove curves from my alignment?

4639 Views, 7 Replies
04-17-2012 12:13 PM

I have alignment with 2 curves at the beginning and end that I want to keep. It has a few PIs in between ke that are not supposed to have curves, but Civil 3D added them in (very short 200 ft radius curves), but I need to take all but the first and last curves out. 

 

I tried setting Constraint Editing - toggled OFF lock all parameter constraints.  Then I went into the data and tried to change the parameter.  Can't get the curve out.  Is there a way to convert a PI from one with a curve to one without a curve?

 

I can't afford to redraw this alignment - it's being referenced via Data Shortcuts to multiple drawings being used by me and my designer / already has my design profiles and existing profiles attached to it.

 

How to do this?  -  Delete the curves and make them PIs only? (without curves)

 

Lohrmach
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,300
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 8 (4,635 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: lohrmach

Select the alignment, Edit Alignment Geometry for the ribbon or right-click menu, on the alignment layout tools toolbar select Delete Sub-entity, select the curves to remove. 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 3 of 8 (4,630 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: lohrmach

lohrmach wrote:

I have alignment with 2 curves at the beginning and end that I want to keep. It has a few PIs in between ke that are not supposed to have curves, but Civil 3D added them in (very short 200 ft radius curves), but I need to take all but the first and last curves out. 

 

I tried setting Constraint Editing - toggled OFF lock all parameter constraints.  Then I went into the data and tried to change the parameter.  Can't get the curve out.  Is there a way to convert a PI from one with a curve to one without a curve?

 

I can't afford to redraw this alignment - it's being referenced via Data Shortcuts to multiple drawings being used by me and my designer / already has my design profiles and existing profiles attached to it.

 

How to do this?  -  Delete the curves and make them PIs only? (without curves)

 


Typically, when I draw an Alignment, I do it one of two ways:

-Draw a polyline and do 'Alignment from Ogjects'

-Draw by PI (not by line entity)

 

When you created your Alignment (Im guessing from Object) there is an option for Cad to place a 200.00' radius (by default) between two tangents. This is checked by default (only God knows why, if you would have wanted it that way, you would have drawn it in that way).

 

To edit your Alignment and remove the offending PI's, click on the Alignment, then go to your ribbon and select 'Geometry Editor'

 

In the toolbar that pops up, there are several options. Use the 'Delete PI' option to delete the offending PI's. You also can re-insert PI's, curves, spirals, tangents, etc. to manipulate the Alignment to what it is you are trying to achieve.

 

See the pic below.

 

Geometry Editor

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 4 of 8 (4,623 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

When I  Delete Sub-entity, Civil 3D removes the curve and replaces it with a PI appropriately in all except 1 case.  In that case, the command breaks my alignment and makes the PC the end of the first alignment segment.  Leaving the curve in on that one for now - not a big deal, but curious why it might have behaved differently on that PI/curve.

 

Thanks - very helpful to know what Delete Sub-entity is for.

 

Lohrmach
Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 5 of 8 (4,620 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: lohrmach

Ah - it's behavign differently because I had changed the Curve Parameter Constraint in the table editor.  Not sure how to set back to Radius.  That doesn't appear to be one of my options.  I only have the following to choose from:

 

Three point,

Center Radius,

Center Pass Point.

 

Leaving that curve in for now, but would like to figure this out eventually to remove for final design.

 

I also tried locating the PI manually,  inserting that, then removing the sub-entity.  It still created a break in my alignment and an "EP" at the previous PC location.

 

Lohrmach
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 6 of 8 (4,617 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 12:56 PM in reply to: lohrmach

That very issue is why I like to create my Alignment by PI's, rather than mixing and matching PI's and linework entities. If you lay it out completely by PI, you can edit it completely by PI. If you lay it out using sub-entities, you can edit it using sub-entities.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,300
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 8 (4,602 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: lohrmach

You can grip edit the tangents. If you end up with a gap, drag the tangent ends to the intersection of the tangents (you may need to draw some temporary linework in order to snap to an intersection). Onc eth etangents connect, the alignment will be 'whole' again.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,770
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 8 (4,569 Views)

Re: How do I remove curves from my alignment?

04-17-2012 09:54 PM in reply to: lohrmach

You can also hold the control key, select the curve, and then hit delete on your keyboard. That's even easier than going into the alignment editing tools.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.