AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
windycityengineer
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Message 1 of 6 (207 Views)
Accepted Solution

How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

207 Views, 5 Replies
12-04-2012 07:09 AM

I just received a drawing with a bunch of points in it. One of the layer is called V-ROAD-CNTR-PNTS. Unfortunately, the point number, description, and elevation are all in that same layer. How do I keep just the elevation turned on but turn off the point description and number? When I turn off or freeze the layer V-ROAD-CNTR-PTNS, all three disappear. I just need the elevation showing.

 

Attached is an image of my screen.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,315
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 6 (202 Views)

Re: How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

12-04-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

Change the PointLabelStyle to Elevation Only, either for all the points or for the PointGroup they belong to. May need to set the PointLabelSTyle Override in the point group if using that option.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Contributor
windycityengineer
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Message 3 of 6 (198 Views)

Re: How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

12-04-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

I'm a novice at this. So please be patient.

 

So do I go to Toolspace on the left, pick the Settings Tab, and right click "Point"?

 

Or do I right click "Point Style"? And how do I do that for all the points?

Valued Contributor
bo.martin
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎06-12-2010
Message 4 of 6 (182 Views)

Re: How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

12-04-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

Point styles can be very confusing.

 

You will need to create a style that display the elevation only.

Or edit the stlye of the point selected and it will change all 

the points with that style.

 

Good Luck!!

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (179 Views)

Re: How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

12-04-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

Toolspace > Prospector > Point Groups

You can find or make a point group containing these points.  Set the point group to display however you want.

 

Or if they are all already on the same style, you could just edit that style in Toolspace > Settings > Point > Label Styles


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Contributor
windycityengineer
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Message 6 of 6 (177 Views)

Re: How Do I Freeze Point Number and Description?

12-04-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: troma

That works. Thanks everybody for all your help.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.