AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
basman12
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 1 of 6 (6,338 Views)
Accepted Solution

how calculate area for surface

6338 Views, 5 Replies
07-07-2011 03:20 AM

Hello everybody

how can i calculate the area for specific reigon of the surface?

can i know the volume for this region for a certain elevation ??

 

thanks

Add a boundary and the statistics tab will give you the 2d and 3d area. for the volume create a plane surface at the desired elevation and compute the volume between.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,188
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (6,330 Views)

Re: how calculate area for surface

07-07-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: basman12

Add a boundary and the statistics tab will give you the 2d and 3d area. for the volume create a plane surface at the desired elevation and compute the volume between.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
nicolas.menu
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 3 of 6 (6,318 Views)

Re: how calculate area for surface

07-07-2011 05:31 AM in reply to: basman12

In the ribbon : Analyze > Volumes > Bounded volumes



Nicolas Menu
Support Specialist, Civil 3D
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
bkanther
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-15-2011
Message 4 of 6 (6,176 Views)

Re: how calculate area for surface

08-22-2011 11:35 PM in reply to: nicolas.menu

This may solve for volumes but what about 3d surface area.

 

Are you telling me I have to add a boundary to a surface and go the surface area statistics every time i want a 3d surface area for a different polygon?

 

Brad

New Member
AVerrengia
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-29-2014
Message 5 of 6 (469 Views)

Re: how calculate area for surface

10-29-2014 02:04 PM in reply to: basman12

Its not often that I feel like I can contribute more on topics on here but for this one I think I might have an good technique to build on what the others said. 

 

So basically I ran into a problem where Im taking Cut/Fill Volumes for a site but not the entire site was being paved, so if I lowered my entire finished surface by 6" or whatever.. Then in the areas where there wasnt paving I wasn't getting an accurate cut/fill results... so heres what I did...

 

* Calculate your cut/fill volumes from your Existing Surface vs. Final Surface -0.5'

* Calculate the area of your total site

* Calculate the area of the paved portions

* Multiply the difference by the thickness of your pavement and subtract that number from your cut.

 

:smileyhappy: 

 

Hope that helps! 

Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 6 of 6 (458 Views)

Re: how calculate area for surface

10-29-2014 06:49 PM in reply to: AVerrengia

Wow old thread!

 

You might have saved a lot of time just using the volumes dashboard. Then using the bounded volumes option in there to restrict your calculation to a limited area.

 

boundedvolumes1.png

 

Once you add the bounded areas they stay linked. So you can move them around or adjust the polygon and the volumes update!

 

boundedvolumes2.png

 

The current bounded area you ahve selected get highlighted as well..

 

When your done -> right click -> copy to clipboard to quickly paste into excel...

 

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.