AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
CityWF
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 1 of 4 (1,347 Views)

hec-ras. import profiles into autocad

1347 Views, 3 Replies
04-20-2011 09:21 AM

I am trying to import hec-ras data into autocad. First I created the geo file and exported it out of autocad, then modeled it in hec-ras and made the .sdf file and imported it back into autocad. I can get the alignment back and a profile of the existing ground but I can't get the water surface elevations to show up. They are listed in the prospector in the site/ profile location. There are 10yr, 50yr, 100yr, and 500yr. So my big question is, How do I get the water surface elevations to show up in the profile?

I am searching for ideas so if you just have a guess I would love to hear it.

Thanks, Janet (CityWF)

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 2 of 4 (1,315 Views)

Re: hec-ras. import profiles into autocad

04-21-2011 08:09 PM in reply to: CityWF
Can you attach the drawing? It sounds like it successfully imported, but you are unable to show the profile in the profile view. If that isn't the case, can you zip your sdf file and attach that?
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Distinguished Contributor
auzzie2776
Posts: 1,275
Registered: ‎10-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (1,307 Views)

Re: hec-ras. import profiles into autocad

04-22-2011 06:15 AM in reply to: CityWF

i would stsrongly reccomend that you watch this video by james wedding on your exact procedure.

 

this is a excellent excellent video on flodplain modelling done at autodesk university on the exact process you are having issues with. ive watched it a few times.

 

click the link below

 

http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=class&session_id=4918

 

hope this helps

 

jason

Valued Contributor
CityWF
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 4 (1,303 Views)

Re: hec-ras. import profiles into autocad

04-22-2011 06:32 AM in reply to: auzzie2776

Jason, thanks for the video. The solution to my problem is at 1:04 in the video. I love the fact you can pick/select from the prospector and the ribbon changes and everything just like you picked it off the drawing. Nice! 

 

and Matt, The speaker mentions your name at about the same place. 

 

Thanks again Guys,

Janet

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.