AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
SteadyT
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Message 1 of 4 (421 Views)

HEC-RAS Import Issue

421 Views, 3 Replies
03-21-2011 02:12 PM

Hello,

 

I am attempting to import HEC-RAS Water Surface Elevations into my drawing using Autocad Civil 3D 2011.  When I import my data using the Insert --> Import HEC-RAS, it captures the wrong data for the water surface elevations.

 

It properly draws the creek centreline elevation within my drawing, but the water surface elevation import seems to grab the wrong data from my HEC-RAS file.  From whatI can tell, it takes the Station I.D. from HEC-RAS and imports that as the PVI Station, rather than using the GIS Data.  Has anyone else had this issue and is there a fix available for it?

 

Thank you.

 

Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 711
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 2 of 4 (406 Views)

Re: HEC-RAS Import Issue

03-21-2011 06:01 PM in reply to: SteadyT

i have always had a hard time trying to bring the water surface elevations back to civil 3d, even after religiously following advices from James, John, Matt and a few other very knowledgeable people here in the DBs. i would suggest you look into the "create profile from file" option in civil 3d. you can save the results from hec-ras in STATION-WATER SURFACE ELEVATION format easily as a text file, that you can manipulate to remove the structure entries (the ones without stations), and save it as space delimited format as in:

STA1 ELEV1

STA2 ELEV2

...

note that there should only be one space between the STA and ELEV in each line. then import this text file through the "create profile from file" option in civil 3d, and you will have your water surface elevation profile. i know this does not answer your original question, but hopefully gives you a workaround you can potentially use.

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2014 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 711
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 3 of 4 (398 Views)

Re: HEC-RAS Import Issue

03-21-2011 07:10 PM in reply to: SteadyT

sorry, forgot to mention that once you get your water surface elevation table in text format from hec-ras, you will have to sort it to have the smallest STA at the top. otherwise, the profile from file function in civil 3d will have a brain fart.

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2014 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 4 (396 Views)

Re: HEC-RAS Import Issue

03-21-2011 07:15 PM in reply to: SteadyT

Can you post your files? or drop me an email?

 

Matt Anderson, PE CFM

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.