AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
nwtayeb
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Message 1 of 7 (246 Views)

Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

246 Views, 6 Replies
08-04-2013 02:15 AM

Please tell us waht you like in it mostly, is there a good updates in it???

Nemdili Tayeb
Use:Civil 3d 2012

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 7 (204 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-04-2013 11:58 AM in reply to: nwtayeb

If you are using pressure pipes in 2013, I would highly recommend moving to 2014.

 

You can also read about the new features in 2014 HERE.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-04-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

BrianHailey wrote:

If you are using pressure pipes in 2013

 


I didn't even know that was possible...... :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 7 (148 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-05-2013 06:37 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian, bring us up to speed on pressure pipes.  The last I remember was that it could be similar leaving home with a six shooter and realizing when the fight started you brought your pea-shooter.

 

Bill

 

 

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-05-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: wfberry

In 2013 there were some distinct limitations to the pressure networks. In 2014, a lot of those have been removed. In particular: In 2013 you couldn't data reference a pressure network, you couldn't sample pressure networks for display in cross sections, and you couldn't apply pay items to the parts. All of this you can now do in 2014.

 

And then there's the "compass".

 

 

Man, this thing is AWESOME! for demos

 

I've tried, I just can't like this thing. Yeah, if your pipes have EXACTLY a 45d bend then it works fine but how often does that happen. I think a lot of the issue I had was with the compass not working the way I expected it to. So, I use it but not the way it's demo'd. Layout the pipe with the compass to get it close then adjust the pipe, then hit the plus to add the next piece of the pipe. If you do it that way, it's not too bad.

 

 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 6 of 7 (125 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-05-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks Brian:

 

I guess I was remembering that originally pressure pipes would not appear in Cross Sections.

 

Bill

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Have you tried Civil 3d 2014?

08-05-2013 08:26 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks for the time and effort there Brian. I haven't touched these either. With DS's I can roll them out.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.