AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
davidrenaud3020
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 1 of 7 (217 Views)

Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

217 Views, 6 Replies
10-02-2012 08:04 AM

Hi,

 

Does anyone know how you are supposed to create, add to, rename, turn selectability on/off, etc., with GROUPs in relase 2013? Help says that there is a Gruops panel on the Home tab of the ribbon, but there is not on mine. I think it was the same way in 2012. in 2012 I set a system variable to use the old groups dialog, but I thought I should get with the times. Any hints? I created a group, and am now asting tons of budgets hours just trying to be able to find out how to manipulated since Help didn't.

 

Thanks

 

C3D 2013

Dell POS with up to date Win7

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,638
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 7 (214 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

10-02-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: davidrenaud3020

Run AutoCAD using the shortcut labeled AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 as AutoCAD 2013. The CUI it loads has a Groups panel on the home tab of the Ribbon.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
davidrenaud3020
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 3 of 7 (210 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

10-02-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: tcorey

Do I then transfer the Group panel to the C3D ribbon tab in the CUI interface, because, of course, I'm typically using C3D features when I work. I will try that now ...

 

thanks.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,638
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 7 (205 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

10-02-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: davidrenaud3020

That's what I would do.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
davidrenaud3020
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 5 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

10-02-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: tcorey

lol, this is great. I use groups a LOT! I was in the middle of tranferring the groups panel to the C3D ribbon Home tab, with no dwg's open, and got a Fatal Exception.

 

Try, try again. I refuse to go back to the old way.

Active Contributor
davidrenaud3020
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Message 6 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

10-02-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: davidrenaud3020

no joy. after another Fatal Error while in the CUI dialog, I tried MENULOADing the c3d.cuix before going to the CUI interface. Fatal Error and now it won't even open C3D as Autocad2013 without getting a Fatal Error.

 

Any 'Deskers out there who can help me do a simple group manipulation, help me get the panel on my ribbon, help me get C3D as Autocad2013 running, or have any advice in general?

 

 have one stinking group in my drawing made up of lines from someone else's survey map that I then align as a group into our survey. but now I can't explode it, make it selectable, do anything with it except turn the grips for each line in the group on/off in OPTIONS. and I do this several times for several surveys created by others in different coordinate systems. This should be simple, but appartently Group functionality, except being able to create one by entering G at the Command line, is unavailable in C3D? this kinda sucks.

Member
bbaker99
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
Message 7 of 7 (151 Views)

Re: Group Manipulation in C3D Release 2013?

11-08-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: davidrenaud3020

CLASSICGROUP

 

if it's an un-named group, do this...

 

Step 1: Name the Group

type GROUPEDIT

Select the group

type REN (for rename)

type TEMP for the group name

 

Step 2: Delete the Group (the entities will not be deleted, just the group name)

type CLASSICGROUP

Select TEMP

Click Explode button

Click OK

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.