Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grading Subdivisions

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
TROYDAWES
811 Views, 4 Replies

Grading Subdivisions

Hello,

I am new to Civil 3D, I am working with Civil 3D 2014, I played with 2009 back in 2008 and before that it was Land desktop.  I don't know if I am not following a standard workflow, or if I am missing a step.

Here is what I am doing.

1. Build the EG from contours.
  2. Layout the CL for the ROW and convert to a horizontal alignments.
  3. Create the profiles.
  4. Design the vertical alignment in the profile.
  5. Create the assemblies for the different types of road sections.
  6. Full profile, pavement width assembly, the curb return assembly, the daylight left / right, 1/2 side left / right, and pavement width left / right.
  7. Build the corridor, set the target surface as EG or FG, depending on where the section of the corridor is located. (At the edge of the property to EG, then after the first building pad to FG)
  8. This is where I have a thought something is wrong. If I am grading the entire site, why would I have the ROW grade to the EG, when I will need the surface to grade from the ROW to the closest building pads?
  9. Create the intersections, using the different types of assemblies, per the ROW sections.
  10. Create feature lines and use elevation editor to set all the elevations around the pad.
  11. Using the Grading creation tool, grade to surface, using a 2:1 side slope. Then adding an infill to the pad.

I keep having the file crash after grading about 10 lots. I recover and it works find, but then the file runs very slow, and will crash. I haven't taken any classes in Civil 3d, and am looking for one in my area, but does anyone have any ideas of what I am doing wrong?