AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 9 (370 Views)

grading problem

370 Views, 8 Replies
10-31-2012 06:31 AM

I made a berm by creating a feature line from a closed polyline and then graded down to an existing surface. The bottom of slope is supposed to go around the entire perimeter of the berm but it only shows up on one side. If I view it with the object viewer it looks fine - the bottom of slope shows up all around the berm. What reason could there be for only part of the bottom of slope line displaying? Please see attachments.

 

Thanks

 

Wil

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 9 (340 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

If you go into the elevation editor for the bottom of slope feature line where you can see it, and go down the list of PIs in the editor, does it appear to stop or continue around?  Watch the triangle highlighting the PI.  Does it go around the berm or stop at the limit of what you see?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 3 of 9 (317 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
I can go all around the berm in the elevation editor. The triangle does not stop. If I display the triangles for the berm surface, they all appear correctly. The bottom of slope seems to be there, it just won't display. Wilf Carter Senior Designer [cid:image001.png@01CDB768.1F521FD0] 102 Portland Street Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada B2Y 1H8 www.ablenvironmental.comPh: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111 Fax: 902-469-4399 wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 9 (304 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Are you able to open the file on another workstation? That might help determine if the problem is with the file vs. the computer.

 

Also make sure there are no errors in the file (AUDIT)

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 9 (296 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: Neilw

Kudos to Neil for suggesting Audit.  Always should be a first port of call when something funky happens with feature lines.  Do a save first, I've crashed a few times from doing an audit.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 6 of 9 (295 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
Unfortunately, no. I'm the only one with Civil 3D in the office. Wilf Carter Senior Designer [cid:image001.png@01CDB76C.A14D2170] 102 Portland Street Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada B2Y 1H8 www.ablenvironmental.comPh: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111 Fax: 902-469-4399 wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 9 (294 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Check all layers on and thawed.

Regenall

Close drawing and/or program and/or reboot machine, try again.

.....normal checklist.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 8 of 9 (286 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

If you can post a reduced dataset, forum users can have a look. You might want to submit a support request and get the ball rolling.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 9 (270 Views)

Re: grading problem

10-31-2012 12:02 PM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

See if this helps: Select the featureline>> autocad move >> enter enter.

 

Also was the FL created from existing entities? You may have had some pseudo nodes or doubl backs that would goop things up. Does the elevation edition indicate any split nodes the you otherwise would not have expected.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.