AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
bjornhgr
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 1 of 5 (332 Views)

Grading from different objects to the same surface

332 Views, 4 Replies
11-23-2011 01:19 AM

Hi,

 

 I'm fairly new to Civil 3D and am working with grading a lot. My feature line crosses the bedrock surface (shown in attached image), so the first grading takes me there from part of the FL. How do I get from this grading and the rest of the FL to the terrain surface (hidden in the image). I've got it for the part from the first grading, but when grading from the FL, I'm asked to specify start and end points, but these seem to have no effect, and no grading is made from the FL (see image).

 

Thanks!

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 5 (314 Views)

Re: Grading from different objects to the same surface

11-23-2011 09:13 AM in reply to: bjornhgr

Not sure if anyone else can see you image but I cant

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 5 (302 Views)

Re: Grading from different objects to the same surface

11-23-2011 11:49 AM in reply to: bjornhgr

Do you see any messages on the command line when the grading fails?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
bjornhgr
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 4 of 5 (290 Views)

Re: Grading from different objects to the same surface

11-23-2011 10:04 PM in reply to: Neilw

No, there's no message. I click create grading -> select the feature -> Select the grading side -> Select the starting point (I select the end of the first grading) -> Chainage [XX m]. No matter what i select or input at this point, nothing happens, and I'm back to "select the feature".

 

The best thing would perhaps be if there is a way to join the FL from the first grading and the rest of the original FL, but I'm not sure if that is at all possible?

 

I've attached the image. The first time i just pasted it in the message.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 5 (283 Views)

Re: Grading from different objects to the same surface

11-23-2011 11:19 PM in reply to: bjornhgr

I would try sliding your grading that targets the rock slightly away from the point where it transitions to target the existing ground terrain. Do that to both ends of the grading. Then try applying the new grading that targets the existing ground but also don't bring it all the way to the transition points. This will leave small gaps between the ends of the gradings. Add a feature line across the gaps where the gradings meet the terrain and use and infill to fill in the empty space.

 

See screen capture.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.