AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
01rs25subaru
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
Message 1 of 9 (406 Views)
Accepted Solution

Grading Creation Problems

406 Views, 8 Replies
03-07-2013 01:23 PM

I have a Grading Plan that is getting increasingly unstable as time goes on... I used Grading creation tools to create 3:1 mounding for a stock pile that is on my site... there are a couple dozen mounds on the site for this stock pile...

 

My problem is when I go to edit any feature lines or Grading; the drawing just crashes and will not save my work... I ran an audit and it does not find anything... I need to get the grading done ASAP and this is a major hold up... Do I need to go back through and manual grade everything or is there a secret that I am missing???? this is sooo immensely frustrating...

 

I have read multiple forums on the matter with older version of Civil 3d... so this is to tell me that the problem has never been fixed with Autocad?

Ditto what everyone else says.

 

I have been having sucess with them is here are my rules for working with GO

 

1. if converting acad linework to FL's Map clean the heck out of them

2. avoid using acad linework for FL's (See item 1.)

3.be cautous of vertices, filet when practical

4. save before every grading command

5. audit, purge all, purge reg apps, save often (preferably after every grading command)

6. avoid prjecting out of surface range ( take some measurement or start steep and work out)

7. Keep it simple

 

I'm sure there is more but thats all for now

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,721
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 9 (395 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-07-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: 01rs25subaru

You've probably read suggestions to explode your gradings and re-create when necessary. That is still a good suggestion when you are having these issues.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 9 (391 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-07-2013 01:43 PM in reply to: 01rs25subaru
Grading objects are excellent when they behave but can be very buggy and cause instability in the drawing - save and save often when using them.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 9 (377 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-07-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: 01rs25subaru

Ditto what everyone else says.

 

I have been having sucess with them is here are my rules for working with GO

 

1. if converting acad linework to FL's Map clean the heck out of them

2. avoid using acad linework for FL's (See item 1.)

3.be cautous of vertices, filet when practical

4. save before every grading command

5. audit, purge all, purge reg apps, save often (preferably after every grading command)

6. avoid prjecting out of surface range ( take some measurement or start steep and work out)

7. Keep it simple

 

I'm sure there is more but thats all for now

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,721
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 9 (367 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-07-2013 02:45 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

 

3.be cautous of vertices, filet when practical

 


Hi Joe,

Are you saying when dealing with feature lines, fillet the angle points? What's the specific reason for this? Does it help because it avoids using Civil 3d's internal corner handling?

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 9 (357 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-07-2013 05:27 PM in reply to: tcorey

Hi Tim

 

Its quasi scientific. I do often have angle point. Its just me trying to work clean. If I liken it to an alignment with a kink and try to get a station offset; the software takes a SWAG at it and I get palpatations when I see my grading fold back on itself. Quite frankly that should be numbe 8. Avoid grading into yourself

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 9 (334 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-08-2013 05:54 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

9. Save

10. Save, audit, save

11. Save, save, save.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 9 (329 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

03-08-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: troma

{WhileStillGrading} GOTO 4.

{Loop}

{Return}

 

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
KCCDCONSERVE
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-09-2008
Message 9 of 9 (154 Views)

Re: Grading Creation Problems

08-07-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: 01rs25subaru

I have been having similar problems and like you said, grading has been an issue that hasn't been addressed and is frustrating. I decided to go through the tutorials again just in case I was missing something and even the tutorial drawings are buggy. When the Grading Creation Tools is open, I tried to resize that window to see all the properties of each command and the "Fill Slope Style" selection box disappeared. When I resized again to the original size, it reappeared. I tried to make it bigger again and the "Fill Slope Style" selection ended up in the "Select Grading Criteria" selection box location and the "Select Grading Criteria" ended up in the "Fill Slope Style" location. It really needs to be addressed. The grading operations are very handy and important, but almost impossible to use without ruining the project drawing. I will try to follow the 1-8 or 9 steps recommended, but would appreciate any and all other suggestions. I just now resized the window again and the "Select Grading Criteria" completely disappeared. Wow!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!