Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GIS files to surface

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
DeanMussell
995 Views, 18 Replies

GIS files to surface

Hi all, 

I am completely new to Civil 3d. I am a student and I am trying to take some GIS information we were given for a project and import it to make a surface. I was given shapefiles with every file extension you could have possibly ever heard of. I have .shp .shx .prj  .sbn autocad compatible, autocad shape source, etc. I have tried to load... import and follow the "creating a surface" tutorial with no success. By the way I am working in Civil 3d 2011. Thanks in advance for any help or tips!

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
MikeEvansUK
in reply to: DeanMussell

Not sure if this will work as I have not tried it and it also depends what information the shapes contain.

Try importing the shapes into a new drawing and use the Express tools function "Convert shapes to Blocks". It may give you data that is usable.

If the blocks are not in 3D then you may need to attach the file into the map drawings and run a query then modify the elevations.

If they are contours then that will be simpler but again you may need to adjust the levels if in 2D, there's a tool in the UKIE pack which does this quite well.

If you post a copy of the data I'll take a Pog at it and see what options you have, also please let us know what version of Civil3D you are using as functions vary from version to version.

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2022 English
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Message 3 of 19
DeanMussell
in reply to: MikeEvansUK