AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
MLaCoste
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 1 of 5 (282 Views)

Getting HDPE to bend in a Pressure Pipe Network

282 Views, 4 Replies
02-27-2014 06:39 AM

We've created a very in-depth HDPE catalog for C3D 2014 Pressure Pipe Networks (similar to the catalog we created for Plant 3D). It works great so far, except that we can't get the pipe to bend along Existing Grade or Design Grade surfaces. Is there a rule or setting that we're missing to allow this to happen correctly?

 

Thanks!

 


Mark LaCoste | Design Group Lead, Senior Civil Designer | Golder Associates Inc.
1575 Treat Blvd., Suite 100, Walnut Creek, California, USA 94598

www.golder.com

Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 5 (250 Views)

Re: Getting HDPE to bend in a Pressure Pipe Network

02-27-2014 12:46 PM in reply to: MLaCoste
Do you have the cut length specified for your HDPE? The surface is followed by breaking the pipe into segments as specified in the cut length. See attached.
Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 3 of 5 (245 Views)

Re: Getting HDPE to bend in a Pressure Pipe Network

02-27-2014 12:54 PM in reply to: MLaCoste

Here's the screenshot. Adding attachments doesn't seem to work in Chrome.

 

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
Member
MLaCoste
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Message 4 of 5 (233 Views)

Re: Getting HDPE to bend in a Pressure Pipe Network

02-27-2014 02:01 PM in reply to: mbcastle

Mark, thanks for the reply. However, we need to pipe to follow the ground contours like it would in the field, without breaks or seams. If a fitting is needed we would place that manually.

 

Thanks!

Mark

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 5 (227 Views)

Re: Getting HDPE to bend in a Pressure Pipe Network

02-27-2014 02:50 PM in reply to: MLaCoste
Pressure pipes are designed to follow the ground profile according to the pipe segment length. Your only option would be set a small length.

Be aware that once you apply the profile you will end up with numerous independent segments in the profile which you cannot remove. If you need to straighten stretches of pipe in the profile (to eliminate high points), you will have to move each segment manually as there is no tool to straighten the segments.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.