AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 9 (383 Views)

Geotechnical Add on in 2014

383 Views, 8 Replies
03-26-2013 08:03 AM

Seems like the Geotechnical add on is only available via the Design Suite in 2014 - if this tool is not available for standalone Civil3D then poor show Autodesk :smileysad: as this is the only worthwhile tool in the suite above what I usually use the upgrade cost isn't worth it....

 

http://www.autodesk.com/suites/infrastructure-design-suite/included-software

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,390
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 9 (370 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: neilyj

Wow, that really is slap in the face.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 9 (363 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: TRogers

Isn't it just....have to question the value of my subscription when the most useful tool in reent years is removed.....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 601
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 4 of 9 (301 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: neilyj

Yeah, and the River tools are only in the Ultimate suite. Hard to justify that just for something that's only used on rare occasions.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 9 (287 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 01:51 PM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

The cynic in me might think that the Autodesk grand plan is for Civil 3D to be discontinued as a standalone product and just be sold as part of the suite with a lot of other stuff that is used very occasionally

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 9 (280 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 02:17 PM in reply to: neilyj

Everything I have heard from Autodesk makes me think Civil 3D and other single products will continue to be sold and supported for years to come.(I hope I don't have to eat my words one day )

 

I agree that the suites workflows are not for everyone, but to say the software provided is useless is going overboard. Useless for you doesn't mean useless for everyone.

 

Case in point, let's say you're a civil firm who specializes in transportation. Do you think it's useless to be able to easily create an animation of a new or to-be-modified highway? A big part of the job is getting approval and the great visualization provided in the suites helps, particularly when your audience is administrators, not engineers.

 

What if you're a city? Infraworks is part of the infrastructure suites. That's very useful for municipaliies.

 

Take a look at YouTube and see what some ciivil firms are doing with Navisworks and point clouds. I'm sure they dont' consider Navisworks useless.

 

All that said, yes, Autodesk does seem to want to blanket the user world with suites, while many many users will only use their single product. It's up to you and your reseller to come up with a single product vs. suites mix that makes the most sense for your firm. Each company will be different, no doubt. Particularly in the civil industry, if your reseller, without evaluating your users and workflows, tries to tell you that you should replace all your single products with suites, talk to a different reseller, one who will serve your best interests, not his own and Autodesk's.

 

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 601
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 7 of 9 (278 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 02:22 PM in reply to: tcorey
I'd be happy if I could put together a "suite" of the tools I need. Give me a choice, priced accordingly. Many of the Ultimate tools we wouldn't use, but the River tools would be of benefit. It's hard to justify a $5k price difference just for River tools that would only be used occasionally. If I could pick and choose based on the tasks of our users, I'd be a happy camper. Lisa Pohlmeyer Dept. of Infrastructuredirect: 512-943-3364 main: 512-943-3330
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 9 (275 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: tcorey

I don't think I said the suites were useless (at least not in this thread) and I'm sure i could use some of the functionality e.g. Raster Design day to day.

 

Perhaps the suites will be a precursor to the "software as a service" model which is surely where all this Cloud stuff is heading.

 

I'm sure lots of people need to impress the people in suits" who write the cheques but many of us have to get out on site and shift the muck as efficiently as possible.

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 9 (269 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Add on in 2014

03-26-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

LisaPohlmeyer wrote:
I'd be happy if I could put together a "suite" of the tools I need. Give me a choice, priced accordingly. Many of the Ultimate tools we wouldn't use, but the River tools would be of benefit. It's hard to justify a $5k price difference just for River tools that would only be used occasionally. If I could pick and choose based on the tasks of our users, I'd be a happy camper. Lisa Pohlmeyer Dept. of Infrastructuredirect: 512-943-3364 main: 512-943-3330

Me too....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.