AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
d1of2
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-16-2012
Message 1 of 5 (259 Views)

GEOID12A model

259 Views, 4 Replies
01-12-2013 09:54 AM

anyone know anything about using the new geoid that was released http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/GEOID/USGG2012/

 

supossedly more accurate / corrected location data. Just what we need right... another coordinate system

Windows 7 64
Intel Core i7 2.0 GHz 2.0 GHz
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M
Civil 3D 2012 SP2.1
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,872
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: GEOID12A model

01-13-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: d1of2

A Geoid is not a coordinate system, from NOAA:

 

geoid: The equipotential surface of the Earth's gravity field which best fits, in a least squares sense, global mean sea level

 

Bill

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,349
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 5 (224 Views)

Re: GEOID12A model

01-14-2013 06:28 AM in reply to: d1of2

Link does not work.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
MATRIX3DSURVEYS
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎08-18-2005
Message 4 of 5 (216 Views)

Re: GEOID12A model

01-14-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: d1of2

The Geoid model is used to correct GPS observations WGS84 Ellipsoidal height to the local Orthometric height (Mean Sea Level).  GEOID12. Changes impacted regions in the states of Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin. http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/GEOID/GEOID12/.

The Geiod Models are used in Software such as Leica LGO or Move3 to correct raw GPS observations to the local Orthometric height. In elevation critical applications observations should be made on at least 3 Bench Marks in the work area to establish the Plane of the local spheroid, and the field data adjusted.

 

Jim

E&P Geophysics Group

Matrix3Dsurveys

Valued Contributor
d1of2
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-16-2012
Message 5 of 5 (187 Views)

Re: GEOID12A model

01-24-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: MATRIX3DSURVEYS

I thought it was part of a coordinate system. As you mentioned, in order to get satalite aquired possitioing on to a ortho you need a geoid moodel, so in effect it is part of a coordinate system right?

 

I wasn't really asking a question, until now.

Windows 7 64
Intel Core i7 2.0 GHz 2.0 GHz
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX460M
Civil 3D 2012 SP2.1
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.