Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

general guidelines neede please

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
achillesgr
347 Views, 2 Replies

general guidelines neede please

I am new to civil3d and the autocad philosophy and i need some help to clear some things  so to get the things right from the bigining.

1. Should i draw properties boundaries or roads or survey objects with pline or lines?

2d or 3d?

The line tool and the pline tool at the home tab are using the 2d or the 3d?

I have points that have some elevation and a pline that folows them in space. How can i measure the projected area of the pline?

2.i need to be able to mark the area of obgects,properties and so on , but how to do it?is parsels the only way?

3.how should i use the databases? Should i throw thaem every survey point i have after a field measurment and then use it as an archive of points?that is the meaning of databases?so far after a survey i threw the points directly as txt file and thats it.every drawing have its own points.is that correct?

4.what does the byblock means under the dimensioning styles? Yes i understand the byblock if i have a block object but in dim styles? Why an extension line for example is set to byblock?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
mathewkol
in reply to: achillesgr

1. Plines or lines, it doesn't reallyt matter as long as their drawn.   If there's a chance you need to measure a closed area or hatch a closed area then I would use polylines.  The polyline line command is usually set up to draw 2D polylines and that's fine.  2D drawing is what most users do unless you're using the modeling tools like corridors, pipes, grading etc.