AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mcloughlin
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 1 of 10 (206 Views)

Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

206 Views, 9 Replies
04-01-2014 02:24 PM

This is probably some simple SYSVAR, but we note that after a zoom or two, and/or a pan or two, we must regen to keep navigating the image.  Is there any way to reduce the number of regens we must execute in the course of moving around our images?  These are simple land surveys, and are not complex drawings.  

 

Thanks.  

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,584
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (198 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-01-2014 02:40 PM in reply to: mcloughlin

Set REGENAUTO to ON.

Distinguished Contributor
mcloughlin
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 3 of 10 (150 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 06:10 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

REGENAUTO is already on.  Haven't thought of any other variables.  Thanks anyway.  

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,955
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 10 (147 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 06:18 AM in reply to: mcloughlin

Acad can only hold so much graphics info in RAM and when you're panning/zomming, you're moving past what it's got stored resulting in a need to REGEN.

 

Adding more ram MIGHT reduce the need for regens (I don't know if there's also some sort of internal limit but I DOUBT it).

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 10 (143 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 06:35 AM in reply to: mcloughlin

Does it help if you set IMAGEQUALITY to Draft?

 

Does it help if you toggle RTDisplay (Pan Zoom with Raster& OLE)?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 10 (134 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 07:12 AM in reply to: doni49

doni49 wrote:

Acad can only hold so much graphics info in RAM and when you're panning/zomming, you're moving past what it's got stored resulting in a need to REGEN.

 


A bit of trivia. The area that you can work in without a regen is called the Virtual Screen. Doing a ZOOM V from the command line will take you to the extents of the Virtual Screen. V isn't listed as an option in the Zoom command, but it still works. V = VMax.

 

A better video card with more RAM might help. But I don't know the specs on the OPs computer.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
mcloughlin
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 7 of 10 (113 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 11:20 AM in reply to: doni49

My system has 16 GB RAM and runs on a 3.40 GHz Xeon E3-1240 64-bit processor.  My suspicion is that the hardware is not at fault.  I know that I could move about freely in vast and complex topographic drawings in LDD, so I think perhaps some sysvar is set here that prevents more than about five pans/zooms in sequence before I must manually regen to continue navigating about the screen.  

 

 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 10 (102 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-09-2014 09:22 PM in reply to: mcloughlin
What is the image file type?
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 9 of 10 (92 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across image

04-10-2014 05:47 AM in reply to: mcloughlin

mcloughlin wrote:

This is probably some simple SYSVAR, but we note that after a zoom or two, and/or a pan or two, we must regen to keep navigating the image.  Is there any way to reduce the number of regens we must execute in the course of moving around our images?  These are simple land surveys, and are not complex drawings.  

 

Thanks.  

 

 


When you say images, are you talking about actual images inserted into the drawing? If so, are you using FDO or MAPIINSERT? 

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
mcloughlin
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 10 of 10 (79 Views)

Re: Frequent Regens when panning or moving across drawing

04-11-2014 08:31 AM in reply to: sboon
"Image" was a mis-wording for "drawing." It's a Civil 3D 2014 DRAWING.
Sorry.

--
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!