AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
PriceGeographic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 1 of 7 (375 Views)
Accepted Solution

File size grown to 26mb, should be 8, have tried , WBlock, Recover, -Purge>R

375 Views, 6 Replies
01-31-2013 09:30 AM

Have fresh install of AutoCAD C3D with all the current updates. Window XP pro service pack 3, plenty of memory for "normal" sized 5-10MB dwg files. Drawing has water, sewer, electrical system objects with object data, a few xrefs, and 25 or so high res aerial images.

 

Drawing after basemapping completed was about 6-8mbs, slowly grown to 12, then 16, then 20, now at about 26mbs. 

This dwg should be no bigger than about 10-12mbs. 

 

As the file size increased over that last 6 months, the crashes became more frequent - fatal with program locked up. I have tried all the usual stuff to elimanate fat or corrupted files - WBlock, Recover, Audit, -Purge>R, but with no positive effect whatsoever. File size does not decrease. I WBlock a single polyline out, but that file is 26MB! Ran the same on it - no effect, no problem found. I will send the attachment if needed.

 

Upgrading is not in the picture for now. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

If there has been a GeoLocation set then when you issue the Geographiclocation command it will ask to redefine it, edit it, or remove it. Choose to remove it. This data is stored in an internal Dictionary that bloats itself when corrupted, by remove the GeoLocation it also removes that Dictionary entry in it's entirety. Rest the dwg's coodinate system using the C3D drawing settings.

 

I wrote a lisp at one time to force the removal of the dictionary, but this way is a bit cleaner.

 

Try it on th einflated drawing. If this doesn't work, you can send me the drawing, or post it to a dropbox folder, and I will take a look to see what I can do to fix it.

Active Member
PriceGeographic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 2 of 7 (373 Views)

Version

01-31-2013 09:44 AM in reply to: PriceGeographic

Sorry, Version is C3D 2009. Have also tried saveback to 2004, R14, Files still big.

Active Member
PriceGeographic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 3 of 7 (359 Views)

Update

01-31-2013 10:20 AM in reply to: PriceGeographic

Might have a fix. Made new blank drawing. Inserted and exploded the problematic 28mb(and growing) drawing, saved the new file and checked the size. 2mbs! Everything seems to be there, including images and object data. I will be working with the new file to see if I have other errors or if the file starts growing again.  I would still like to know what was hogging the memory

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 7 (350 Views)

Re: Update

01-31-2013 10:38 AM in reply to: PriceGeographic

I believe that 2009 was the version which had a strange issue with the GeographicLocation somehow getting corrupted. If you change this to be nothing, or possibly even just reset it to a new one it would clear up the mysteriously growing files.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
PriceGeographic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 5 of 7 (341 Views)

Re: Update

01-31-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: PriceGeographic

Thanks for the reply Jeff. It looks like the GeographicLocation tool is used to identify a point in Geographic coordinates? what do you mean when you suggest to zero it out? How can I check to see if my problem is due to the GL tool?

 

My 28mg(and growing) file is now only 2.5 megs. I suspect that I have dozens of "inflated" drawings that I will need to fix. Insert into new drawing seemed to work well. Is that the fix to use or is there another way?

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 7 (334 Views)

Re: Update

01-31-2013 11:03 AM in reply to: PriceGeographic

If there has been a GeoLocation set then when you issue the Geographiclocation command it will ask to redefine it, edit it, or remove it. Choose to remove it. This data is stored in an internal Dictionary that bloats itself when corrupted, by remove the GeoLocation it also removes that Dictionary entry in it's entirety. Rest the dwg's coodinate system using the C3D drawing settings.

 

I wrote a lisp at one time to force the removal of the dictionary, but this way is a bit cleaner.

 

Try it on th einflated drawing. If this doesn't work, you can send me the drawing, or post it to a dropbox folder, and I will take a look to see what I can do to fix it.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
PriceGeographic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 7 of 7 (326 Views)

Re: Update

01-31-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff, the reset worked one one drawing to take it from 12mb down to 2mb. However, I am crashing ACAD with fatal errors when trying to open the corrupt drawings that are 18-28 mbs. I have already recovered the info from the 28mb drawing. I will try rebooting and recovering the big one and try it again. At any rate, I am able to work on the project again, and know several fixes to the problem. Thank you for the help, I never would have found the GeoLoc bug thing. so I considered it "solved". Kudos!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.