AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
212 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Post 1 of 8

Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

247 Views, 7 Replies
02-26-2014 07:34 PM

Hey guys.. This one has me stumped..

 

I have developed a nice custom subassembly and everything models they way i want it to.. However i am having problems with my feature lines when the meander either side of the centreline. they dont stay together! which makes it really anooying if i want to create a boundary on a surface.

 

Here is the section. A basic dam with multiple stages incorporated. The crest width of the stages can vary.

 

centrelinefeaturelines.png

 

The problem becomes more obvious in plan view

 

centrelinefeaturelines-2.png

 

you can see the pink line is my daylight string. But when it crosses my centreline it stops and starts again!!

 

centrelinefeaturelines-3.png

extremely annoying as i can;t pick it as a surface boundary automatically! i have to pick and find all the gaps interactively.

 

Any ideas?? is their setting i can toggle to allow features line to join on either side of the centreline.

 

cheers.

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
*Expert Elite*
2,063 Posts
172 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Post 2 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 09:58 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com
  1. What point represents the actual alingment?
  2. Does the assembly consist of two subassemblies -- one for the right and one for the left?

I ask these questions because I'm assuming the answer to #2 is YES.  If that's the case, that's most likely the problem.

 

Post your subassemly.  Keep in mind that this website will not allow you to upload a PKT file -- rename it as a zip and then post that.  When it gets downloaded we'll save it as a pkt file.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given. Such messages will be deleted unread & without a reply.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Pro
1,180 Posts
180 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Post 3 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 11:49 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

This behavior is a confirmed defect that was introduced in C3D 2014.

 

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/C3D-2014-SP1-Medians-Still-Not-Working/td-p/4...

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Mentor
212 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Post 4 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 03:12 PM in reply to: doni49

Doni...

 

no it is all one subassembly... the alignment is blue... one i nthe middle

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Mentor
212 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Post 5 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 03:15 PM in reply to: fcernst
fcernst

hows things?.. thanks for confirmation..

I do wonder how big Civil 3D's beta test team is. Not to mention how heavy they are as users..

thanks again

Kapanther
Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Mentor
212 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Post 6 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-07-2014 10:58 PM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

anyone know if this has been fixed in 2015 sp1?

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
*Pro
1,180 Posts
180 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Post 7 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-08-2014 06:36 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

No and it is frustrating. We need this capability to create Left Turn lanes ASAP.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/C3D-2015-SP1-Median-crossing-Centerline-not-w...

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Mentor
212 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Post 8 of 8

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-10-2014 04:25 PM in reply to: fcernst

Man.. awful. That is a deal breaker for me. Looks like its back to 12d.

 

I am right in saying that it used to work yeah? I think 2012 it was fine?

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post