AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 1 of 8 (241 Views)

Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

241 Views, 7 Replies
02-26-2014 07:34 PM

Hey guys.. This one has me stumped..

 

I have developed a nice custom subassembly and everything models they way i want it to.. However i am having problems with my feature lines when the meander either side of the centreline. they dont stay together! which makes it really anooying if i want to create a boundary on a surface.

 

Here is the section. A basic dam with multiple stages incorporated. The crest width of the stages can vary.

 

centrelinefeaturelines.png

 

The problem becomes more obvious in plan view

 

centrelinefeaturelines-2.png

 

you can see the pink line is my daylight string. But when it crosses my centreline it stops and starts again!!

 

centrelinefeaturelines-3.png

extremely annoying as i can;t pick it as a surface boundary automatically! i have to pick and find all the gaps interactively.

 

Any ideas?? is their setting i can toggle to allow features line to join on either side of the centreline.

 

cheers.

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 09:58 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com
  1. What point represents the actual alingment?
  2. Does the assembly consist of two subassemblies -- one for the right and one for the left?

I ask these questions because I'm assuming the answer to #2 is YES.  If that's the case, that's most likely the problem.

 

Post your subassemly.  Keep in mind that this website will not allow you to upload a PKT file -- rename it as a zip and then post that.  When it gets downloaded we'll save it as a pkt file.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,161
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 3 of 8 (194 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 11:49 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

This behavior is a confirmed defect that was introduced in C3D 2014.

 

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/C3D-2014-SP1-Medians-Still-Not-Working/td-p/4...

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 4 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 03:12 PM in reply to: doni49

Doni...

 

no it is all one subassembly... the alignment is blue... one i nthe middle

 

Kapanther

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 5 of 8 (179 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

02-27-2014 03:15 PM in reply to: fcernst
fcernst

hows things?.. thanks for confirmation..

I do wonder how big Civil 3D's beta test team is. Not to mention how heavy they are as users..

thanks again

Kapanther
Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 6 of 8 (75 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-07-2014 10:58 PM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

anyone know if this has been fixed in 2015 sp1?

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,161
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 7 of 8 (60 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-08-2014 06:36 AM in reply to: ceethreedee.com

No and it is frustrating. We need this capability to create Left Turn lanes ASAP.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/C3D-2015-SP1-Median-crossing-Centerline-not-w...

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Mentor
ceethreedee.com
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 8 of 8 (42 Views)

Re: Features dont connect in corridors, left to right side.

08-10-2014 04:25 PM in reply to: fcernst

Man.. awful. That is a deal breaker for me. Looks like its back to 12d.

 

I am right in saying that it used to work yeah? I think 2012 it was fine?

Civil 3D 2014 (SP2)
Win 7 Pro x64 -DELL Precision Workstation T3500
Intel Xeon 3.3GHz (w3680) -24Gb Ram
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (1GB)
ceethreedee.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.